Skip to main content

What is the Midwest Student Exchange Program?

The Midwest Student Exchange Program is a multi-state tuition discount that offers students in Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, or Ohio reduced tuition rates. That means you qualify to pay lower tuition at UW-Eau Claire, just because of the state you live in! How cool is that?

Apply NowBe a Blugold Schedule a VisitTry us on for size Request InfoGet the details

UW-Eau Claire doesn't limit the number of students from MSEP states who get reduced tuition. *All undergraduate majors except Nursing are eligible for the MSEP tuition.

Here are the qualifications to take advantage of the MSEP program:

  • Must be accepted to UW-Eau Claire as a degree-seeking student.
    States in the MSEP
  • Be a legal resident of Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, or Ohio. Minnesota students are covered under the Minnesota/Wisconsin tuition reciprocity agreement. 
  • Most degree programs and majors are approved for the lower tuition rate. Exceptions include nursing (undergraduate and Doctor of Nursing Practice) and most of the online graduate programs with unique tuition rates.
  • If a student exceeds 165 credits, MSEP students will be charged at regular non-resident rates.

Note that the admissions application will be used to verify eligibility; no separate application process is needed.

Learn more about MSEP



student organizations

Music lovers in Eau Claire enjoying the Sounds Like Summer Concert Series in Phoenix Park.

Feels like home

During your time at UWEC, you’ll be immersed into the blooming Eau Claire community. While UW- Eau Claire itself has activities to meet countless interests, the surrounding town also offers opportunities for you to get off campus and explore.

Discover the possibilities
We want to hear from you

Please enter your name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter a valid phone number

Please enter a message