Skip to main content

HCAD Celebrates Students, Preceptors, Alumni, and Partners at Spring Banquet

Every year outstanding students, preceptors and friends of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Health Care Administration Program are recognized at the annual spring banquet hosted by the UW-Eau Claire Center for Health Care Administration and Aging Services Excellence (CHAASE). Nearly four-hundred participants attended this year’s event which was held April 21 at The Lismore in Eau Claire, WI. 

Bill Dombi, President of the National Association for Home Care & Hospice (NAHC), was this years keynote speaker.  

CHAASE Award Recipients:

Preceptor of the Year: Beth Schroeder,  Minnesota Masonic Home in Bloomington, MN
Recognizes the contribution and leadership by a preceptor of the health care administration program

Distinguished Student: Jackson Bires, Hayward Area Memorial Hospital & Water's Edge in Hayward, WI
Recognizes exceptional performance and extra contributions by a UW-Eau Claire health care administration student

Distinguished Alumni Award: Kris Krentz, Skaalen Retirement Services in Stoughton, WI
Recognizes distinguished service to the field in a manner that brings credit upon the award recipient and UW-Eau Claire

Distinguished Service Award: Robert Molitor, Alden Management Services in Chicago, IL
Recognizes commitment to the advancement of CHAASE

Lifetime Achievement Award: Arlyn Mills, has been involved in the program from the very beginning as an advisor, preceptor and adjunct faculty member.
Recognizes individuals that have been or are a pillar of the program and have made significant and lasting contributions

Applied Student Leadership Projects:

Each year at the annual CHAASE Spring Banquet, each of the HCAD administrative residency students present on one of their required leadership projects.  The students demonstrate via posters how they selected a challenge to tackle at their administrative residency site, planned the measuring and implementation of their project, led their team throughout the project, and developed recommendations for future success.

Listed below are the award recipients for each poster category.

CHAASE Poster Session

Internal Operations Award: Alex Roegner, Skaalen Retirement Services, Stoughton, WI
Project: Streamlining Medical Supply Ordering
Preceptor: Kris Krentz

External Relationships Award: Kayla Luraas, Martin Luther Care Center, Bloomington, MN
Project:  Love for my Community
Preceptor: Kenzie Christopher

Customer Service Award: Jackson Bires, Hayward Area Memorial Hospital & Water's Edge, Hayward, WI
Project: Falling for Kaizen
Preceptors: Candi McConnell


Over $30,000 in scholarships were awarded for the 2021-22 year. Special thanks to our scholarship donors.

Alden Network: Rouhan Richardt, from Wausau, WI, $1000. Awarded to a student who has been involved in mentoring younger students.

American College of Health Care Administrators Student Chapter: Lily Kiffmeyer, from Lino Lakes, MN, $500; Karla Gomez, from Rochester, MN, $500; Heston Amble, from Spring Green, WI, $500. Awarded to a local and national student member of ACHCA who has shown commitment to the organization and the program.

Brian R. Schoeneck UWEC Alumnus: Hannah Peroshek, from Greenwood, WI. $500. Awarded to a student who graduated from high school in Wisconsin and has volunteer or work experience within a non-for profit senior organization.

Care Providers of Minnesota: Shay VanEyll, from Shakopee, MN, $1000. Awarded to a student who works or volunteers in a senior care setting in Minnesota.

Gene Decker: McKenna Campbell, from Saint Paul, MN, $500. Awarded to a student who was an active participation in ACHCA student organization.

Good Samaritan Society: Carissa Prestholdt, from St. Louis Park, MN, $1000. Recognizes a student with diversity in their learning experience.

LeadingAge Wisconsin/Value First: Alex McConnell, from Hayward, WI, $500; Jess Fjelstad, from Chetek, WI, $500. Awarded to a Wisconsin resident with service in the health care field.

Life Care Services: Caitlin Mylly, from Ironwood, MI, $1000. Recognizes a student with significant involvement in leadership roles/positions. Minimum 3.25 GPA.

M3 Insurance: Michael Beckfield, from Eau Claire, WI, $1000. Awarded to a Wisconsin resident with preference given to students with experience in health or safety improvement.

Marquardt Management Services: Katie Schellhorn, from Gay Mills, WI, $1000. Awarded to someone who mentors/coaches younger students. Minimum 3.0 GPA.

Michael J. Christensen: Alexis Pham, Eagan, MN, $500. Awarded to someone who demonstrates leadership skills. Minimum 3.5 GPA.

North Shore Healthcare Scholarship: Meadow Wilson, from Circle Pines, MN, $1000. Awarded to a student who has experience working or volunteering in senior care and be from Wisconsin, Minnesota, or North Dakota

Presbyterian Homes and Services Scholarship: Peyton Ford, from Pulaski, WI, $500; Bao Vue, from Milwaukee, WI, $500.  Awarded to a student who participates in faith-based service.

Thomas Schanke Family Civic Engagement: Ben Clark, from Blaine, MN, $1000. Recognizes a high achieving and civic-minded student. 

Tri County Medical Alliance: Emily Mulberry, from Circle Pines, MNI $200. Awarded to a student who has made a special contribution to the field of health care administration.

Villa HealthCare: Annabelle Howat, from Aurora, IL, $1500. Awarded to a sophomore or junior student who is active in ACHCA, has a minimum GPA of 3.5, is a CNA or other health care experience, has worked or volunteered in a senior living center.

Wisconsin Assisted Living Association: Jen Brown, Inver Grove Heights, MN, $1500; Hannah Mehtala, Osseo, WI, $1000. Awarded to a student who volunteers or works in an assisted living setting

Wisconsin Health Care Association and Wisconsin Center for Assisted Living: Kayla Stanke, from Roseville, MN, $1000; Lydia O'Hara, from Saint Charles, MN, $1000; Maggie Oliverius, from Monticello, MN, $1000; William Painter, from Pulaski, WI, $1000; Samantha Schoonover, from Milwaukee, WI, $1000, Mitchell Gordon, from Barron, WI, $2500; Megan Kalthoff, from Richmond, MN, $2500. A non-profit trade association dedicated to representing, protecting and advancing the interests of Wisconsin’s long-term care provider community and the residents they serve. The scholarship is funded through the George F. MacKenzie Scholarship Fund which receives support from an annual benefit golf outing held each July.

Special thanks to our 2022 CHAASE Banquet Sponsors.

Platinum Sponsors

Life Care Services (LCS)
The Alden Network

Gold Sponsors

Accura HealthCare
Health Dimensions Group
Ebenezer Senior Living
Marquardt Management
Marquis Companies
North Shore Healthcare
Oak Park Place
Villa Healthcare

Silver Sponsors

Eden Senior Care
Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.
Heritage Senior Living
Lifespark Home Health
M3 Insurance
Mayo Foundation for Medical Education & Research Monarch Healthcare Management
Presbyterian Homes & Services
Pathway Health Services
The Bay Health and Rehabilitation Centers

Bronze Sponsors

American Lutheran Communities
Bethany St. Joseph Corporation
Brewster Village
Capitol Lakes
Colavria Hospitality
Crossroads Care Center-Sun Prairie Direct Supply
Friendship Village of Bloomington
Good Samaritan Society
Hayward Area Memorial Hospital & Water's Edge
Martin Luther Senior Living
Minnesota Masonic Homes
Rennes Health & Rehabilitation
St. Paul Elder Services
The Towne House Retirement Community
Wisconsin Assisted Living Association
Wisconsin Illinois Senior Housing
Woodside Lutheran Home

Save the Date for the 2023 CHAASE Banquet: April 20, 2023