Skip to main content

Olsen named 2023 Outstanding Communication Student

| Carrie Ottum

Each academic year, the Business Communication Department faculty and staff choose a student for the Outstanding Business Communication Award. Leah Olsen was chosen for the prestigious award for the 2022-2023 year.

Olsen, from Stevens Point, WI, graduated with a B.B.A. in marketing analytics and an advanced business communication certificate. 

The Outstanding Business Communication Student Award is presented annually to a senior who demonstrates excellent oral, written, and interpersonal skills; has achieved high grades in business communication courses, and has completed (or is in the process of completing) the Advanced Business Communication Certificate.

"I personally will miss seeing Leah on campus. Not only has she been an exemplary business communicator, but she is also an exemplary person. It was a joy to have her in three classes during her time at UWEC. She was very involved on campus, and she gave nothing less than 110% in everything that she did." says Bridget Kurtenbach, senior lecturer in business communication.

Kurtenbach shares Olsen is truly deserving of the several recognitions she received while at UW-Eau Claire. She also received the Blugold Spirit Award, the Blugold Love Memorial Award from Campus Ambassadors, and was nominated for the Outstanding Marketing Graduate Award. 

Dr. Nici Ploeger-Lyons, associate professor of business communication, says "Leah always brought a personable professionalism with her to each interaction—whether it was an individual presentation, a collaborative project, or a conversation. Leah was a conscientious, intelligent, and hard-working student."

Ploeger-Lyons was impressed by Leah's ability to be super supportive and respectful when listening to peers' presentations. 

"Leah was truly an outstanding business communication student! I cannot wait to learn about her future successes!"

Recipients received a certificate and their names were placed on the plaque in the Business Writing and Presentations Studio with previous years’ winners.