Skip to main content

What we do

The Council on Internationalization and Global Engagement (CIGE) assists UW-Eau Claire in preparing students, faculty, and staff for active, informed and ethical participation in a pluralistic and globally interdependent world through meaningful learning opportunities on and off-campus. CIGE supports a campus culture of global awareness and engagement and the cultivation of mutually beneficial relationships between our university community and people of color, places, and cultures within and beyond the borders of the United States.

We invite you to join our Canvas page where you can access resources on international and global engagement for professional development.  Our page also contains materials that can easily be adapted to meet curriculum and learning needs, notify you of important international campus events, and much more.


  • CIGE meets on the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of each month @ 2 PM in VLL 1128 and online via Zoom if you are unable to attend in-person. Please email Andrew Akey, Assistant to CIGE, at for the meeting link, or general questions.

Meet Our Members!

Damir Kovačević - Assistant Professor of Political Science. Chair of CIGE.

Andrew Akey - Intercultural Immersions Office Program Assistant. Secretary of CIGE.

Jeff DeGrave - Intercultural Immersions Office Coordinator and Senior Lecturer of Geography and Anthropology. 

Colleen Marchwick - Director of Center for International Education. 

Colleen Duffy - Professor of Mathematics. 

Katrina Rothrock - Assistant Professor of Mathematics. 

Manny Fernandez - Professor of Spanish and Director of Latin American and Latinx Studies Program.  

Shannon Roach - Lecturer of Languages.

Bibiana Fuentes - Associate Professor of Languages/ Latin American Studies. 

Josephine Kipgen - Assistant Professor of Race, Ethnicity, Gender and Sexuality Studies. 

Ganga Vadhavkar - Associate Professor of Communication & Journalism. 

Brian McInnes - Assistant Professor of American Indian Studies. 

Chia-Yu Hsu - Associate Professor of Music and Theater Arts. 

Kranti Dugar - Assistant Professor of Management & Marketing. 

Frances Hawes - Assistant Professor of Health Care Administration. 

Lorraine Smith - Assistant Professor of Nursing. 

Der-Fa Lu - Professor of Nursing. 

Bryan Brown - Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders. 

Jamie Tester - Assistant Professor of Social Work. 

Feroz Siddique - Associate Professor of Mathematics (Barron County). 

John Rosenow - Owner of Cowsmo Compost & Rosenholm Dairy. Community Member. 

Mercedes Falk - Director of Puentes Bridges Program. Community Member. 

Sarah Loecher - Student Senate Member. 

Ally Etzler - Student Senate Member. 

We want to hear from you

Please enter your name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter a valid phone number

Please enter a message