Skip to main content
Return to campus fall 2020 and other COVID-19 updates   READ MORE »

Enforcement

Parking Enforcement at UW-Eau Claire

Parking policies and regulations at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire are aimed at easing the parking crunch on campus and in the neighborhoods adjacent to the campus. These policies and regulations are part of an overall parking plan recommended by the Physical Plant Planning Committee, the University Senate and the Student Senate, and approved by the chancellor. The plan incorporates a multifaceted approach to managing a limited number of parking spaces available to students, faculty, staff and visitors.

  • Permits are required in all campus lots as posted.
  • Permits should be placed on the driver's side window in the plastic sleeve or in a manner that all information on the permit is clearly visible from the exterior of the vehicle.
  • Always remember to head into stall.
  • The absence of signs does not mean parking is allowed.
  • Vehicles must park properly in marked stalls. Improperly parked vehicles may be issued a citation.

Lower Campus

  • Hibbard Lot: "F" permit required in "F" posted stalls 6a.m. - 3p.m M-F.  "G" permit required in "G" posted stalls 6a.m. - 6p.m. M-F.
  • Phillips Lot: "S" permit required in "S" posted stalls 6a.m. - 3p.m. M-F.  "F" permit required in "F" posted stalls 6a.m. - 3p.m M-F.  "G" permit required in "G" posted stalls 6a.m. - 6p.m. M-F.
  • Nursing Lot: "G" permit required 6a.m - 6p.m. M-F
  • Water Street Lot:  "S" permit required in "S" posted stalls 6a.m. - 3p.m. M-F. "F" permit required in "F" posted stalls 6a.m. - 3p.m M-F.  "W" permit required in "W" stalls 24 hours from 6a.m. Monday through 3:00 p.m. Friday
  • HSS (Human Sciences and Services) Lot: "F" permit required 6a.m. - 3p.m. M-F. "W" permit required in "W" stalls 24 hour from 6a.m. Monday through 3:00 p.m. Friday
  • Haas Lot: "F" or "S" permit required 6a.m. - 3p.m. M-F.

Upper Campus

  • Governors Lot: "F" permit required 6a.m. - 3:00p.m. M-F
  • Murray Lot: "F" permit required 6a.m. - 4:30p.m. M-F
  • McPhee Lot: "F" permit required in "F" posted stalls 6a.m. - 4:30p.m M-F. "S" permit required in "S" posted stalls 6a.m. - 4:30p.m. M-F
  • Oakridge and Chancellors Lot: "R" permit required  in "R" stalls 24 hours from 6a.m. Monday through 3p.m. Friday.
  • Bridgman and Towers Lot: "R" permit required in "R" stalls 24 hours from 6a.m. Monday through 3p.m. Friday.  "F" permit required in "F" stalls 6a.m. - 3p.m. M-F

Priory

  • Priory Lot: "F""S", or "R" permit required in Priory "F/S/R" stalls 6a.m. - 3p.m. M-F.

Bollinger

  • Bollinger Lot:  "B" permit required in "B" stalls, Monday- Friday from 6a.m. - 3p.m.

Fire lanes, loading zones, disabled stalls, 15 minute zones, improper parking (backwards into stall), no parking zones, and all restricted areas are enforced 24 hours, 7 days a week.

Loading zone and short-term handicapped permits are available in Blugold Central.

A parking citation is an official document that describes the violation, amount of the penalty, time and location of issuance, vehicle description, and information about how to pay or appeal the citation. Wisconsin State Statutes give Parking and Transportation Services authority to enforce parking policies and issue citations. Citations are placed on vehicles or sent through the mail. Only authorized Parking and Transportation Services employees or University Police officers may issue citations. Citations may be issued more than once each day to vehicles in violation of parking policies.

The registered owner of the vehicle is responsible for the parking citation (including lost, stolen, or damaged citations) whether or not the owner was operating the vehicle at the time the citation was issued in accordance with state law.

Students with unpaid fines lose university class registration rights and have transcripts held. Anyone with unpaid fines may be referred to small claims court or a collection agency. Additional fees will be applied for unpaid citations.

 

Improper Permit Display

$5

Expired Meter $10
Improper Parking $10
Permit Required $20
Prohibited Parking $30
Disabled Parking Stall Violation

$150

Permit/Ticket Fraud

$200

 

Improper Permit Display $5
Timed AMP Parking Expired $10
Improper Parking $10
Permit Required $20
Prohibited Parking $30
Disabled Parking Stall Violation $150
Permit/Ticket Fraud $200

In an effort to keep an emergency route open and insure that snow and ice is removed from roadways, sidewalks and parking lots in a timely manner, the following snow removal rules are in effect from November 16, 2019 through March 15, 2020.

Parking is prohibited between the hours of 1:00a.m. and 7:00a.m. seven days a week in the meters in the following locations (regardless of weather conditions).

  • University Drive in front of Chancellors, Oakridge and Bridgman
  • Towers Circle (only the 20 minute meters along the building)
  • Behind Hilltop
  • University Drive in front of Olson


Vehicles parked in the meters between these hours will receive a $30 ticket for prohibited parking.

Note: The City of Eau Claire Alternate Side Parking started November 1, 2019. Details can be found here

AMP Timed Parking

Locate timed parking on campus by signage identifying it as an AMP location. The parking app, AMP Park, will be used for timed parking near Haas Fine Arts Center, Hilltop Center, Governors Hall, Murray Hall, Phillips Hall, Schneider Hall, Towers Circle, University Drive and Hibbard Hall.

Timed parking can be purchased in 15 minute increments, will be $1 an hour and from August to May, the Parking and Transportation unit will cover the transaction fees.

Apple App Store

Google Play

Search the app as "AMP Park".

Two-hour and 15-minute timed AMP parking zones are located on upper and lower campus and enforced year round. AMP parking is enforced on upper campus Monday- Sunday from 8am - 9pm and on lower campus Monday-Friday from 8am - 9pm.

2 Hour Parking Zones - $1.00 per hour
Governors, Haas, Towers Circle, Schneider lot

15 Minute Parking Zones - $0.25 per hour
HHC (small parking lot next to Hibbard Hall), Hilltop, Murray and Phillips parking lot

*Disabled Permits not valid in 15 minute meters

 

1. Download the 'AMP Park' app from the Apple App Store or Google Play Store.

2. Create an account.

3. Park where you see AMP signs.

4. Enter your zone, vehicle information and length of stay.

5. Pay for your parking session from your phone.

The zone number is required to start your parking session and identifies where you are parked. When you open the app/website it will prompt you to allow your location. Pressing “Allow” takes you to the university on the map. You also can search for University of Wisconsin Eau-Claire to bring up all locations where the AMP parking is offered on campus. The zone number you are parked in is located on parking signs in the campus locations where AMP parking is available.

When using the app, you will know your parking session has successfully started once you see the “Parking Session” screen with a session countdown and expiration time as well as other transaction details.

Transactions made with the app are instantly available to parking enforcement personnel through their wireless handheld devices.

You cannot change the zone number or update your license plate once a session has started. If a session has been started in the incorrect zone or you have selected the wrong vehicle, start a new session with the correct information.

No, university parking permits are not valid in AMP timed parking zones.

You can view your parking history in the AMP app or website at aimsmobilepay.com. Go to the menu tab -- the three lines on the top left -- from the main screen to view purchase history. Tap on “Purchase History’ and then “Details.”

You can start additional parking sessions by clicking a different zone number from the main screen.

Contact Blugold Central at blugoldcentral@uwec.edu or 715-836-3000.

The AMP app is available on smartphones with iOS 9 and Android smart phones. Smartphone users with older versions or different operating systems can use the website. When using the mobile pay website to pay for parking online, a modern browser like Chrome is most compatible.

You cannot reduce the amount of time or get a refund once a parking session has been submitted.

Parking time to purchase ranges from 15 minutes to 2 hours, dependent on the zone. How long you can park in each zone is noted on the app and website under the "View Additional Info".  The timed noted is the maximum time you can park your vehicle in the zone. Time can be added in your current zone or purchased in a new zone after a 15 minute "wait period" has happened since the most recent time parking purchase has ended.

We want to hear from you

Please enter your name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter a valid phone number

Please enter a message