Skip to main content

UW-Eau Claire men’s club volleyball team wins national title

The UW-Eau Claire men’s club volleyball team defeated its archrival UW-La Crosse to capture a national title April 20 at the National Collegiate Volleyball Federation Division II National Championships in Kansas City, Missouri.

UW-Eau Claire has faced off against UW-La Crosse in the national championship match for the past three years, with the Blugolds winning the national title in 2022 and again this year. The Blugolds were able to beat the defending champions 2-1 in the match at T-Mobile Center.

All seven Blugold starters were recognized for their outstanding play in the tournament. Blugold Nick Feine was named the tournament MVP. Jackson Peterson (first team), Trey Myers (first team), Carson Bakkala (second team), Charlie Fenton (second team), Mason Mortimer (second team) and Samuel Vondenlich (second team) were named All-Americans along with Feine.

The team finished the season with a record of 31-4.