Econ Scholarships

It's true, sometimes it's about the money

We understand very well how large of an investment your college degree will be, and how seriously you take this financial responsibility. Fortunately for Blugolds interested in economics, there are several Foundation funds designated for econ students, so be sure to look at the criteria and application process for each. Some of these funds are in memory of alumni, others founded to honor faculty, but they all have the potential to help make a significant dent in a tuition bill, and we thank the generous donors who make funding like this possible for Blugolds.

Find scholarship information and helpful links here: Scholarships at UW-Eau Claire

A memorial fund created to honor Josef Gapko, an enthusiastic economics major who died at age 22 from Duchenne muscular dystrophy. One yearly award.

Previous recipients:

  • 2017-18 Nicholas Meyer
  • 2016-17 Timothy Frederick
  • 2015-16  Joseph Hunt
  • 2014-15  Jonathon Plumper
  • 2013-14  Brandon Magliocco
  • 2012-13  Courtney Brown

The Gerald and Mary Jacobson Economics Scholarship was offered for the first time in the 2005-2006 academic year. This scholarship is awarded to UW-Eau Claire students at the junior or senior level with an Economics major who have at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA.

2017-18 Selena Scheller, Jill Wegner, Zhao Yang
2016-17  Isaiah Knott,  Selena Scheller,  Helue Vazquez Valverde
2015-16  Joseph Hunt, Isaiah Knott, Joseph Westenberg
2014-15  Mitchell Fischer, Stephen Kahlow, Beth Nettescheim
2013-14  Oyunsuren Enkhbat, Lindsey Gohr, Lydia Harrer
2012-13  Emily Anderson, Courtney Brown, Stephen Fisher

This scholarship was created in 1998 by professor emeritus of economics Duane Oyen, in memory of his wife, Lynne. This scholarship is awarded to an economics major or minor who has met the following criteria:9 credits of economics
Junior or senior status
Full-time student standing (12+ credits)
Overall GPA of 3.0 and 3.0 GPA in economics classes
Demonstrated financial need.
The 2017-2018 Application Form for all Department of Economics Scholarships is now online. Please go to: Gold for Blugolds, find Economics, and follow the directions carefully.

Past recipients
2017-18 Cora Cornett, Elizabeth LeMay
2016-17 Molly Burrow, Joseph Westenberg
2015-16 Isaiah Knott, Joseph Westenberg
2014-15 Sara Fisher, Jacob Raleigh
2013-14 Emily K. Anderson, Ashley K. Pope
2012-13 Stephen J. Fisher, Mai Neng Vang

The family of Mike Reinke, a 1972 UWEC economics graduate, has donated $65,000 for a scholarship, which will provide an annual award of $2,000-$2,500 to an economics major. Mike died in a bicycle accident in the summer of 2004. The contributions are from Mike’s family and colleagues; particularly those Mike worked with in the International Dairy Foods Association. Mike was an Associate Director of Dairy Procurement at Kraft Foods. The first award was in the spring of 2005 with the funds available for the 2005-2006 academic year.The 2017-2018 Application Form for all Department of Economics Scholarships is now online. 

2017-18 Paul Willfahrt
2016-17  Jill Wegner
2015-16 Dominique Wilson
2014-15 Shawn Peterson
2013-14 Sara Fisher
2012-13 Samuel Levitus

The Harry Kaiser Scholarship was first introduced in 2017. Students selected to receive this scholarship have a major in economics and are enrolled in the cultural immersion course, Economics 390/Latin American Studies 390. This award will go towards funding the student to study abroad in Argentina.

2017-18 Munirah Mazlan

UW-Eau Claire geology student Sarah Kintner during her summer 2015 internship with Barr Engineering in Minneapolis.

Scholarship supports hands-on experience

We know the value of experiences like undergraduate research, and now offer a new scholarship to help make it possible for more Blugolds.

Extra cash to do more
We want to hear from you

Please enter your name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter a valid phone number

Please enter a message