Skip to main content

Recognizing outstanding faculty and staff

The College of Arts and Sciences grants three awards each year. This page provides background on the awards and recognizes those who have received them. Each award has unique features, but commonalties across the awards include teaching effectiveness, contributions to student learning and scholarly activities.

Career Excellence in Teaching Award

The College of Arts and Sciences Career Excellence in Teaching Award will identify and honor a member of the College of Arts and Sciences faculty or instructional academic staff with a sustained record of at least 15 years of highly-effective teaching. The awardee will receive College-wide recognition and $1,000.

The awardee will demonstrate the ability and practice of motivating students and encouraging active learning; developing and assessing effective teaching methods and curricula; organizing learning experiences that enhance student learning and development; engaging students in high-impact practices; staying current with scholarship in their field; leading campus and/or professional dialogue on teaching and learning; and serving as a leader and mentor in teaching.

Past Recipients of the Career Excellence in Teaching Award:

2022 – Kristin Schaupp, Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies

2021 – April Bleske-Rechek, Professor of Psychology

2020 – Allyson Loomis, Associate Professor of English

2019 – David Lonzarich, Professor of Biology

2018 – Melissa Bonstead-Bruns, Professor of Sociology

2017 – Jennifer Shaddock, Professor of English

2013 – James Phillips, Professor of Chemistry

2012 – Selika Ducksworth-Lawton, Professor of History

2011 – Robert J. Baca, Professor of Music and Theatre Arts

Janis Annette Haywood Faculty Development Awards

Janis Annette Haywood Faculty Development Fund Awards are available to faculty and instructional academic staff in the College of Arts and Sciences. The fund honors Janis Annette Haywood and was established by her family in November 2016. The intent of the awards is to recognize the outstanding work of the faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences and encourage continued professional development and scholarly pursuits. The key basis for the awards is recognition of faculty contributions to student success.  Awards support faculty development projects and initiatives, especially in the areas of assisting faculty in enhancing their teaching skills, engaging in high-impact practices with students, and/or advancing their scholarly activities in the context of contributing to student success.

Past Recipients of Janis Annette Haywood Faculty Development Fund Awards:

2022 - Wanrudee Buranakorn, Professor of Art & Design

2020 - Carla Lagorio, Associate Professor of Psychology

2020 - Kelly Murray, Senior Lecturer of Biology

2019 - Patricia Turner, Professor of History

2019 - Martina Lindseth, Professor of Languages

2018 - Rose Theisen, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

2018 - Jessica Miller, Professor of Languages

2017 - Peter Hart-Brinson, Associate Professor of Sociology

2017 - Kaishan Kong, Associate Professor of Languages

2017 - Daniel Ott, Visiting Assistant Professor of History

Maxwell Schoenfeld Award

Maxwell Schoenfeld Distinguished Professorship

The award, which was created in honor of Dr. Maxwell Schoenfeld, a UW-Eau Claire history professor and scholar from 1964 until his death in 1996, recognizes a commitment to the university, excellence in teaching, achievement in scholarship and a commitment to student learning and life.

Each year in the Spring Semester, the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences will convene the chairs and directors of the departments and programs in the humanities to select the next year’s recipient of the Maxwell Schoenfeld Distinguished Professorship Award. The award will be announced at the final Spring meeting of the College.

Tenured Faculty who work primarily in the humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences are eligible for the award.

Criteria to be considered by the selection committee are commitment to the institution, achievement in scholarship and/or potential, excellence in teaching, and commitment to student life.

The award will be an unrestricted cash grant for professional development derived from interest accrued to the Maxwell Schoenfeld Professorship Fund in the University Foundation. The money is provided to benefit research and teaching as determined by the recipient. The Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences may request the recipient to give a public lecture or its equivalent during the academic year.

The Legacy of Maxwell Schoenfeld
Maxwell Schoenfeld Distinguished Professorship Award Recipients:

2022 – Lee Anna Rasar, Professor of Music and Theatre Arts

2021 – Patricia Turner, Professor of History

2020 – Jyl Kelley, Professor of Art & Design

2019 – Theresa Kemp, Professor of English

2018 – Anne Hlas, Professor of Languages

2017 – Asha Sen, Professor of English

2016 – Gretchen Peters, Professor of Music and Theatre Arts

2015 – Teresa Sanislo, Professor of History

2014 – Martina Lindseth, Professor of Languages

2013 – Mitra Sadeghpour, Professor of Music and Theatre Arts

2012 – John Mann, Professor of History

2011 – Matthew Waters, Professor of Languages

2010 – Charlene Burns, Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies

2009 – Robert Gough, Professor of History

2008 – Vanissa Murphy, Professor of Music and Theatre Arts

2007 – Michael Christopherson, Professor of Art & Design

2006 – Joel Pace, Professor of English

2005 – Jane Pederson, Professor of History

2004 – Paulis Lazda, Professor of History

2003 – James Brummer, Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies

2002 – Donald Patterson, Professor of Music

2001 – John Hildebrand, Professor of English

2000 – Anders Shafer, Professor of Art

1999 – James Oberly, Professor of History

We want to hear from you

Please enter your name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter a valid phone number

Please enter a message