UW-Eau Claire Alumni

President's Award
2016 Recipients

President's Award: Recognizes outstanding professional and personal achievements and service to UW-Eau Claire.

Judge William Domina

Judge William Domina Ď82 bachelorís degree in business administration

A judicial clerkship with the Wisconsin Court of Appeals from 1985-87 gave Judge William Domina, then a recent University of Wisconsin Law School graduate,  a firsthand look at the importance of the state judicial system. The experience led him to decide that one day he wanted to work as a judge in Wisconsin.
Following positions as a litigation associate for a Milwaukee law firm, principal assistant legal counsel for Waukesha County and then chief legal counsel for Milwaukee County, Domina was appointed by Governor Jim Doyle as circuit court judge in Waukesha County in 2010. He later was elected to the position in 2011.
As circuit court judge, Domina helped establish the Waukesha County Drug Treatment Court in response to rapidly rising heroin and opiate addiction problems and related criminal activity. The purpose of the Waukesha DTC, which facilitates treatment for adults who are nonviolent offenders, is to break the cycle of addiction. In addition to presiding over the DTC for three years, Domina was the presiding judge over Waukesha County’s Alcohol Treatment Court for two years. Domina also established the Waukesha County Juvenile Legal Clinic. In June 2015, he was named the State Bar of Wisconsin’s Bench and Bar Committee Judge of the Year for his work with both the Waukesha DTC and Juvenile Legal Clinic.
A commitment to his community has been a priority for Domina outside of his career as well. His many volunteer leadership roles have included serving for 10 years on the Waukesha School Board and as a Governor Doyle appointee to the Wisconsin Tobacco Control Board, which was responsible for setting tobacco control policy for Wisconsin. He also has been very active in the professional bar associations for Wisconsin and Waukesha County lawyers.

Scott VanderSanden

Scott VanderSanden Ď87 bachelorís degree in finance

Scott VanderSanden has been president at AT&T Wisconsin since 2006. Before being appointed president, he held positions in the company’s finance and central regulatory departments, followed by serving as the company’s vice president of regulatory affairs.
As president of AT&T Wisconsin, VanderSanden worked closely with the Wisconsin State Legislature on Act 42, the video competition bill, which accelerated AT&T’s successful entry into the Wisconsin video market. He also led AT&T’s efforts to support the Telecommunications Modernization Act of 2011, the first major revision of the statutes regulating telecommunications since 1994. Under his leadership, AT&T continues to expand its wireless network within Wisconsin.
VanderSanden received a master's degree in business administration from UW-Madison. He is a member of the board of directors for the Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce and is president of Competitive Wisconsin. He serves as a member of the UW-Eau Claire Chancellor’s Council, which provides strategic leadership counsel to Chancellor James Schmidt, and he is a member of the UW-Madison School of Business Dean’s Advisory Board. He has supported the Scott VanderSanden International Study Scholarship through the UW-Eau Claire Foundation since 2009.

View the list of past recipients of this award.