Site Feedback

Garfield Avenue project affects travel on lower campus. The project is expected to be completed in fall 2018. Please allow extra time when traveling to see us!

Learn More

Women's History Month Awards Ceremony

This is an annual event to celebrate and honor the mission of the Women’s Studies Program.  Our ideas, actions and activism are largely informed and transformed by our students. In that spirit, this awards event celebrates the students of the Women’s Studies Program and their excellence.  The following students were honored for their work from Spring 2016 to the present term:

Helen X. Sampson Memorial Undergraduate Research Paper Award:  Abby Polipnick for “Rejecting Compliments and Making Apologies: Socializing Women to Be Submissive.” 

Helen X. Sampson Memorial Undergraduate Project Award:  Alex DeLakis for “Collating LGBTQ+ Friendly Service Providers: Safe Space Coalition of the Chippewa Valley Resource Guide.” 

Donna C. and Susan C. Turell Award: Lucy Pepin for “No Roots More Intimate: My Journey to Body Acceptance.”

Mickey Crothers Creative Expression Award: Alex Zitzner for “Boy Does Cry Self.” 

Tillie Olsen Creative Writing Award: Chandler Roberts for  “What’s Wrong with Wanting to Look Pretty: My Life Outside the Gender Binary.”             

Virgiline and Joseph See Award: Emilio Taiveaho for his suite of poems “Geography Lessons.”

Ailish F. Barcelo Women's Studies Memorial Scholarship Award: Kezia Jenkins for “Word Reclamation: ‘Queer’”

The Women’s Studies Program also recognizes the achievements and contributions of the Women’s Studies Affiliates who do so much to create a program known for its excellence and activism.

One award that we would like you to highlight is the Women’s Studies Service Award given to Associate Professor Ellen Mahaffy of Communication and Journalism (CJ). She has worked tirelessly to create the following for the Women’s Studies Centennial Celebration.

  • She produced “This Is Women’s Studies Video Program” for the WMNS Centennial Celebration with her CJ Multimedia Communication class, profiling Affiliate members, immersion courses, and graduates.
  • With the help of Bill Hoepner, Amanda Thao, and Barbara Kernan, she helped create a beautiful poster that shows the timeline for the Women’s Studies Directors.

The following faculty and Women's Studies alum were also honored.

Feminist Lifetime of Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Mary Canales

Feminist Community Mentor Award: Nadine Jentzsch

Feminist Mentor Award: Dr. Margaret Cassidy

Feminist Teacher Award: Dr. Jose Alvergue  

Feminist Service Award: Dr. Ellen Mahaffy

Also featured at the ceremony was  Dr. Ellen Mahaffy’s video project.













Thanks for your interest in UW-Eau Claire. Let's get started!

Select a student category below for admission guidelines, important deadlines and instructions.

NOTE: To complete your application to UW-Eau Claire you will be taken off of this website to access the UW System online admission application.

If you want to apply for employment, please click here.