Skip to main content

Journalism graduate wins prestigious SPJ award

For the fourth time in six years a University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire graduate was awarded a national journalism award by the Society of Professional Journalists.

Rachel Minske, a native of Northfield, Minn., received SPJ's 2014 Julie Galvan Outstanding Graduate in Journalism Award, making her the fourth Blugold to win the honor in recent years.

Minske, who graduated in May 2014 with a bachelor's degree in broadcast journalism and a topical minor in convergent media, works as an intern at the Green Bay Press-Gazette in Green Bay.

As a student at UW-Eau Claire, Minske was a member of the campus chapter of SPJ for four years, serving as secretary and treasurer. She also anchored and produced the weekly newscast for TV-10, served as station manager for Wisconsin Public Radio's WUEC-FM, and worked as a part-time reporter for the Eau Claire Leader-Telegram and as the managing editor for Inside Eau Claire. She completed internships at WEAU TV-13, WQOW TV-18 and Wisconsin Public Radio in Eau Claire.

The Julie Galvan Outstanding Graduate in Journalism Award is awarded annually to one journalism graduate and former member of SPJ. Award criteria include character, service to the community, scholarship, proficiency in practical journalism and contributions to the local SPJ chapter. The award is named in memory of Julie Galvan, a former president of the SPJ San Jose State University Campus Chapter who died in a car accident in 1996 while on her way to an internship.

Previous UW-Eau Claire award recipients are Breann Schossow (2012), Jenni Unbi You (2010) and Megan J. Peterson (2009).

For more information, contact Judy Gatlin at gatlinj@uwec.eduor 715-836-2933.