Skip to main content

Center for Service-Learning honors educators, students

| Benita Wagner

On April 27, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Center for Service-Learning recognized those who have volunteered countless hours of service to the Eau Claire community. Mentor recipients included Dr. Harry Jol and Dr. Jason Spraitz. Community partner recipients included Stanton Nesbit and Denise Parker. Student awards recipients were Heather Harkins and Olivia Vruwink. Service Fellowship and Scholarship recipients included Danielle Mares, Ashley Lind, Mirella Espino and Selena Scheller.

Jol, professor of geography and anthropology, received the Excellence in Service-Learning as a Faculty Mentor Award. He has worked with 43 students to help them accomplish 1,185 service-learning hours, and many of these projects included the use of ground-penetrating radar in locations around the world.

Spraitz, assistant professor of criminal justice, received the second Excellence in Service-Learning as a Faculty Mentor Award. Spraitz has mentored 35 student service-learning projects that accumulated 840 hours of service across the Midwest.

A respected educational leader, Stanton Nesbit, works with the Eau Claire School Library Friends. Nesbit has supervised 45 students fulfilling 1,155 hours. In recognition, Nesbit was awarded an Excellence in Service-Learning as a Project Supervisor Award.

Denise Parker has worked with Junior Achievement for more than 10 years. Parker received the Service-Learning Excellence as a Project Supervisor Award. Parker has been instrumental in making 21 UW-Eau Claire entrepreneur students experts in their field.

When Heather Harkins submitted her application to the Center for Service-Learning, she had already obtained 945 hours with Community Television. As a result of performing in a variety of roles, Harkins was awarded with one of the Student Awards highlighting service excellence.

Olivia Vruwink has volunteered as a lead with the Civil Rights Pilgrimage Coordinator, AmeriCorps Service Member as well as a Student Academic Apprentice. As recognition for Vruwink’s community service, she was awarded the second Student Excellence Award.

This summer, Danielle Mares will be volunteering with the program BlueVentures in Madagascar to address the needs of coastal communities that rely on the sea for their incomes and livelihoods. Mares received the Ryan Prechel Community Service Fellowship for $1,250.

The recipient of the Sally A. Webb International Service Fellowship in the amount of $1,000, Ashley Lind will be taking a trip to Nicaragua in January 2018. Lind will be traveling alongside VIDA Volunteers to assist with medical care to a need-based community.

Volunteering prior to transferring to UW-Eau Claire, junior Mirella Espino was awarded with one of two Schadeberg Family Scholarships for $500. Excited to continue working within the Eau Claire area, Espino will continue to focus on social issues within the Latino population.

Selena Scheller worked with Dr. Eric Jamelske, professor of economics, and the Fall Creek Elementary School to research how to increase consumption of vegetables among children. Scheller received the second Schadeberg Family Scholarship for $500.

About the Center for Service-Learning

UW-Eau Claire commits to educating students for full participation in society. One essential aspect of full participation is public service. Our service-Learning requirement fosters habits of public engagement in our students and encourages them to serve society. At UW-Eau Claire, service-learning includes both service and learning to promote the common good. To learn more, visit