Skip to main content

Center for Service-Learning event recognizes individuals for service

| Lucy Grogan-Ripp

Donna Lehmkuhl with ECLIPSE volunteers

Dr. Donna Lehmkuhl, director of UW-Eau Claire's ECLIPSE program, was one of several individuals who recently received Excellence in Service-Learning awards. She is pictured with Blugold students who volunteer through ECLIPSE.

The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Center for Service-Learning recently recognized individuals from campus and community with its Excellence in Service-Learning Awards.

“The mystery of service reveals itself after time is put in on the service,” said Benita Wagner, UW-Eau Claire service-learning coordinator, during the recognition event. “When you first start volunteering you can’t see the dent you are making. Once you form a bond and see a difference, it becomes evident that what you are doing matters.” 

The following individuals received Center for Service-Learning awards:

Lou Kelsey of the Epilepsy Foundation of Western Wisconsin and Jane Rockwell of the Eau Claire Area School District Title I Reading Partnership Program received the Excellence in Service-Learning as a Project Supervisor Award. Kelsey has worked for 16 years as the Epilepsy Foundation’s event and volunteer coordinator, connecting UW-Eau Claire students with the organizations’ events in the community. Rockwell has been pairing up UW-Eau Claire students with children in the Eau Claire Area School District to work on their reading skills since 2011.

Dr. Donna Lehmkuhl and Dr. Scott Lester received the Excellence in Service-Learning as a Faculty/Academic Staff Mentor Award. Lehmkuhl runs UW-Eau Claire’s ECLIPSE program, through which students perform 150 hours of service to children in a semester. She has mentored more than 1,000 students in her career. Lester, a UW-Eau Claire professor of management, created a class called “Community Leadership,” and each spring he links students in the class with projects that benefit the Chippewa Valley.

Students Max Soderberg, a senior management-human resources major from Mosinee, and Josie Myers, a junior geography major from Hutchinson, Minnesota, received the Excellence in Service-Learning Award. Soderberg has worked with the Community Table, where he became the volunteer coordinator when he surpassed his 30 hours of service. Myers worked last summer with the Conservation Corps of Minnesota, aiding wildlife and native species while learning about the impact of invasive species.

The following students received scholarships and fellowships:

  • Erin McCarthy, a sophomore biology major from Richfield, received the Sally A. Webb International Service Fellowship. This fellowship was established after Webb witnessed the benefit of service-learning while abroad.
  • Whitney Mottishaw, a junior physics major from Chippewa Falls, received the Ryan Prechel Community Service Fellowship. Mottishaw plans to use the money for Chippewa Valley Habitat for Humanity home preservation repair projects.
  • Kelly Culshaw, a junior social work major from Appleton, received the the Ryan Prechel Hunger Relief Scholarship. Culshaw works with the Chippewa Valley Street Ministry twice a week.
  • Samantha Gerland, a junior marketing major from Rice Lake, received the Schadeberg Family Scholarship, given to a student highly involved in volunteering in the community.