Skip to main content

UW-Eau Claire contingent takes part in 'Research in the Rotunda'

A large contingent of Blugolds and their exemplary research are part of the 14th annual Research in the Rotunda event in Madison.

The annual event, which showcases the work of undergraduate students and faculty in the University of Wisconsin System, takes place in the Wisconsin Capitol rotunda this week.

Seven UW-Eau Claire students, their faculty advisers and Chancellor James Schmidt will join state legislators, UW System leaders and chancellors, and representatives from the system's Board of Regents to celebrate the outstanding research on display.

The students, with support from faculty advisers, created posters to describe their research. The students, their research topics and faculty advisers include:

  • Danielle Schroeder, Berlin, “A Church, a Bar, and a Brewery: Prohibition and Ethno-Religious Identities in Berlin, Wisconsin” (Dr. James Oberly, professor of history, faculty adviser);
  • Scott Nesbit, Fall Creek, “Applying UAS Technology in the Mining Industry to Lower Overhead Costs and Improve upon Accuracy Standards” (Dr. Joseph Hupy, associate professor of geography, faculty adviser);
  • Sarah Sortedahl, Spring Valley, “Investigation of Mechanical Properties of Bi2Sr2CaCu2O8+x Superconductor through Scanning Electron Microscopy,” (Dr. Matthew Jewell, assistant professor of materials science, faculty adviser);
  • Michael McDonnell, Spring Valley, “Spectroscopic and Computational Studies of Molecules in Electronic Excited States” (Dr. Stephen Drucker, professor of chemistry, faculty adviser);
  • Irene Ng, Eau Claire, “The Impact of Water Clarity on Home Prices in Northwestern Wisconsin” (Dr. Thomas Kemp, professor and chair of economics, faculty adviser); and
  • Sophie Grelson, Apple Valley, Minn., and Erin Zigler, Melrose, “The Role of Mindsets in an Undergraduate Research Course” (Dr. Jerry Hoepner, associate professor of communication sciences and disorders, and Dr. Abby Hemmerich, assistant professor of communication sciences and disorders, faculty advisers).