Skip to main content

History Department Celebrates Student Success

| Sara A. Anderson

Every year, the History department comes together to recognize students that have worked to embody excellence in academia, leadership, and contribution to the community. Last Monday, 8 distinguished students were honored for their dedication to history and academic achievement. The below students were awarded scholarships:

       Incoming freshman Madelyn Loeffler was awarded the Herbert and Eleanor Sack Scholarship. Citing her interest in history as cultivated by an AP U.S. History class, she eagerly awaits the opportunities that UW-Eau Claire offers.

      Karyssa Gulish, awarded the Phi Alpha Theta Scholarship, has contributed immensely to Eau Claire’s chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, giving back to the campus and surrounding communities through volunteering. She continues to take up a leadership role within the Honor Society.

     The Edward B. Blackorby Scholarship was awarded to Anthony Windau, for achieving outstanding academic accomplishments within the department and being recommended by History faculty. He will be the first person in his family to graduate college in two decades and is looking forward to applying for graduate school.

     The Louis Warzecha Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Glenn Walborn, who has been actively engaged in co-curriculars at UW-Eau Claire whilst achieving success within academic endeavors.

      Jackson Yang was honored with a History Department Scholarship for demonstrating success across his History courses at UW-Eau Claire. He excitedly anticipates completing his degree in Secondary Education in History and continuing to serve others through teaching.

      The Miller Prize for Outstanding History Papers was established by Professor Emeritus Thomas Miller and is awarded biannually to recognize phenomenal senior theses. Dr. Miller served the university for 40 years and served as associate vice chancellor and interim provost.

      This honor was awarded to in the fall to alumni Rachel Lavender’s thesis entitled “Setting a New Course in Native America Protest Movements: The Menominee Warrior Society’s Takeover of the Alexian Brothers Novitiate in 1975”. Rachel Lavender graduated with a degree in Public History in December, from which she will begin higher education at UW-Madison.

      In the spring, current History student Hayden Yokes’ thesis entitled “A Cure for What Ails You: Advertising and Labeling of Patent Medicines before and after 1906” was chosen. Hayden’s thesis inspired a career path change, as he hopes to pursue archivism after graduating in May.

     Hannah Lahti earned the Butterfield American History Scholarship, which is awarded annually to an upperclassman pursuing American history through graduate studies. Lahti will be applying to graduate programs in the fall with the goal of becoming a Holocaust Memory Historian.

Apart from recognizing these acclaimed students, the History Department applauds academic success, engagement, and civic involvement in every student involved in History at UW-Eau Claire. The faculty and staff looks forward to recognizing more student accomplishments in the years to come.