Skip to main content

2017 History Awards Ceremony

| Jim Oberly, photos by Patricia Turner

On Monday, May 8, faculty and students in the Department of History gathered in the Hibbard Hall Penthouse to celebrate excellence by history students.  The following students received recognition for their accomplishments: 

  • Emily Baum won the Phi Alpha Theta Scholarship;
  • Erika Powers won the Edward B. Blackorby Award
  • Elizabeth Schmidt won the History Department Scholarship
  • Sarah Mcklveen and Lauren Wiese were co-winners of the Miller Prize for Outstanding Senior Thesis
  • Rachel Lavender won the Butterfield American History Scholarship
  • Anthony Windau won the Gary P. Friedli Memorial Scholarship
  • Hayden Nelson won the Jane M. Pederson and Ronald E. Mickel History Scholarship
  • Jennifer Hildebrandt won the Herbert and Eleanor Sack Memorial Scholarship

In addition to celebrating the accomplishments of the award winners, the Lambda Omicron chapter of Phi Alpha Theta welcomed seven new members to the history honors fraternity.