Skip to main content

Delta Phi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International induction

| Ashley Longsdorf

On Thursday December 1st, 2016 at 4:30pm, family, friends and nursing professors gathered in Davies Center Alumni Room to celebrate the induction of twenty-six nursing students into the Delta Phi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International.

Delta Phi Chapter President, Diane Marcyjanik, PhD, RN welcomed guests and students to the ceremony. Dr. Marcyjanik spoke about the creation of Sigma Theta Tau International by six nursing students at Indiana University in 1922. Sigma Theta Tau is an international nursing honor society, the only one of its kind in fact, with approximately 135,000 members worldwide. The Greek letters “sigma,” “theta,” and “tau” translate to love, courage, and honor respectively. The mission Sigma Theta Tau Nursing Honor Society is “advancing world health and celebrating nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service". Dr. Marcyjanik led the new member induction which included a ceremonial pledge, signature, and individual recognition.  

Pictured above are the new Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) members inducted at Eau Claire: Shanna Ellefson, Jocelyn Etten, Misty Howland, Nicole Kochan, RN,  Ashley Longsdorf, , Erica Murray, Brittany Nelson, Jennifer Peterson, Angel Schmidt, Madeline Scott, Karen Sohn, RN, and Mysella Sowka.

Others were inducted at the Marshfield site or were unable to attend include: Katie Daley, Sydney Domke, Danielle Droessler, Kelly Eberts, Stacie Elliott, Alexandrea Fernstaedt, Danielle Fotsch, Jill Hudacek, Laura Koehler, Stephanie McNamara, Anna Peterka, Courtney Simmons, Morgan Sommerfeld, Athena Strand, and Rachel Zimmer, RN.

Following the ceremony, new members conversed and celebrated with their family, friends, and professors over appetizers and desserts. The members of the Delta Phi Chapter congratulate these hard-working students on their outstanding achievement. They welcome the new members into this nursing community driven by service, research, scholarship, and leadership, and they are eager to witness the positive impact these students will make on our future and our world.