Skip to main content

Commencement held May 21; COB alums recognized

Commencement exercises for UW-Eau Claire students will be held May 21 in Zorn Arena. Founded in 1916, the university will kick off its official Centennial Celebration on commencement day.

Candidates from the College of Business will receive degrees during a 9 am ceremony. Remote-site live broadcasts of the ceremonies will be presented in the Davies Center Woodland Theater and the Ojibwe Grand Ballroom. The ceremony may also be viewed online 

College of Business alumnus Charles Szews will deliver the "Charge to the Class". Szews, who retired as CEO of Oshkosh Corp., will receive the Lifetime Excellence Award from the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association.

Szews is familiar to many College of Business students and faculty as he spoke to accounting and strategy classes, and faculty and student groups when he visited the campus in March 2015. Learn more.   He and his wife, Rochelle, recently established a $1,000 scholarship which will be awarded annually to the president of the college’s Student Advisory Council.

John Hecht and Scott VanderSanden will also be recognized by the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association during commencement ceremonies. Hecht, a 1980 accounting graduate, will received the Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award in recognition of his distinguished service to the community, state, or nation. VanderSanden, a 1987 finance graduate, will be presented with the President’s Award for his outstanding professional and personal achievements and service to the university.

A reception for all UW-Eau Claire undergraduates and guests will follow the morning ceremony in the Marketplace on the first floor of the Davies Center. A separate reception for MBA graduates will be held in the Davies Center Ojibwe Room (330C).