Skip to main content

Welcome to The Warm-Up!

| Gretchen Hutterli

A warm welcome to the students, coaches, and judges visiting the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire for the 11th Annual Great Northwoods Sales Warm-Up, October 19-21. This year's competition showcases the talents of 60+ "hot" marketing and sales students from across the United States.

Students will deliver two different 20-minute sales presentations for Hormel's Natural Choice® Snacks. View sales scenarios.

A panel of sales managers from sponsoring companies will evaluate students on all elements of the sales call. The best overall salesperson will receive $1,500, a trophy, and a custom suit from Tom James valued at $1,000. Cash prizes and trophies also will be given to the 1st runner-up ($1,000), second runner-up ($750), and school champions ($150).

The Warm-Up is hosting a Career Fair on Friday, October 20 from 9 am - 4:30 pm in the Davies Center Ojibwe Ballroom (Rm 330). All UW-Eau Claire students interested in learning more about sales as a profession are invited to attend this event.

A complete schedule of Warm-Up events can be found here.

Our thanks to Hormel Foods and SUPERVALU, platinum sponsors of the competition, and our other corporate sponsors. A complete list of sponsors can be found here.

The Great Northwoods Sales Warm-Up is a national collegiate competition hosted by the UW-Eau Claire Center for Sales & Sales Management in the Department of Management & Marketing. For more information about The Warm-Up, contact Dr. Bob Erffmeyer, director.

Go Blugolds!

Brooke Boegli, Jake Johnson, and Lindsey Marano will represent UW-Eau Claire at the 2017 UW-Eau Claire Great Northwoods Sales Warm-Up. The team alternate is Hailey Schultz. The student coach is Jenna Williamson. Jessica Gardner, Management & Marketing, is the team coach.

The Blugold trio will competed against students from Aurora University, Aurora, IL; Baylor University, Waco, TX; Elon University, Elon, NC; Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL; Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS; Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA; North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND; Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL; Ohio University, Athena, OH; Plymouth State University, Plymouth, NH; University of Texas at Dallas, Dallas, TX; University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond, OK; University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH, University of Dayton, Dayton, OH; University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN; University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, La Crosse, WI; University of Wisconsin-Parkside, Kenosha, WI; University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Whitewater, WI; and Winona State University, Winona, MN.