Skip to main content

CHAASE presents 2016 awards and scholarships

Every year outstanding students, preceptors and friends of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Health Care Administration Program are recognized at the annual spring banquet hosted by the UW-Eau Claire Center for Health Care Administration and Aging Services Excellence (CHAASE). Over 300 participants attended this year’s event which was held April 28 at The Florian Gardens in Eau Claire, WI.

Award Recipients

Congratulations to our 2016 award and scholarship recipients.

Preceptor of the Year
Elaine Dyer, Administrator, Jewish Home and Care Center, Milwaukee, WI
Recognizes the contribution and leadership by a preceptor of the health care administration program

Distinguished Student
Samantha Paider, a junior from Brussels, WI
Recognizes exceptional performance and extra contributions by a UW-Eau Claire health care administration student

Distinguished Alumni Award
Anthony Manzella, ’92, Community Mentor/Administrator, Neighbors of Dunn County
Recognizes distinguished service to the field in a manner that brings credit upon the award recipient and UW-Eau Claire

Distinguished Service Award
Cathy Bergland, VP of Christian Culture and Leadership Development, Presbyterian Homes of MN
Recognizes commitment to the advancement of CHAASE

Best Applied Student Leadership Projects

Internal Operations Award
Craig Lundgren:
Navigating the Innovation of Bundled Payments. Preceptor: Donna Kruchten, Ingleside Manor, Mt. Horeb, WI.

External Relationships Award
Kate Cotter: Decreasing Re-hospitalizations by Improving Resident Transitions and Nurse Education. Preceptor: Bryan Petko, Golden Living Center-Oil City, PA

Customer Service Award
Olivia Neary: The LGBT Welcoming Project – Creating Bonds Within Communities. Preceptor: Joel Prevost, Ebenezer Care Center, Minneapolis, MN.

Heyde Health Care Entrepreneur Award
Lori Bauer:
The Gift of Grain – A Fundraising and Marketing Initiative. Preceptor: Scot Spates, St. John's Lutheran Home, Albert Lea, MN>

HCAD Scholarships

Over $15,000 in scholarships were awarded for the 2016-17 year. Special thanks to our scholarship donors.

  • ACHCA: Robert Whitehurst, a sophomore from Waukesha, WI
  • Alden Health Care: Rachel Kuhnly, a junior from Lino Lakes, MN
  • Benedictine Health System: Nate Sproat, a junior from Green Bay, WI
  • Care Providers of MN: Kylie Seiffert, a junior from Chaska, MN
  • Gene Decker: Allison Prouty, a sophomore from Eagan, MN
  • Fortis: Alyssa Schwaller, a sophomore from Chippewa Falls, WI; and Nikoll Fjelstad, a junior from Pulaski, WI
  • Golden Living: Katelyn Zachowski, a sophomore from Milwaukee, WI; and Lidixe Antonia Montoya de Rodriguez, a sophomore from El Salvador
  • Good Samaritan Society: Justin Teal, a junior from Tomahawk, WI
  • HCR ManorCare: Mackenzie Christopher, a junior from Prior Lake, MN
  • LeadingAge Wisconsin: Tyler Palzkill, a junior from Germantown, WI
  • Life Care Services: Samantha Paider, a junior from Brussels, WI
  • M3 Insurance: Alissa Iwanski, a junior from McFarland, WI
  • Thomas Schanke Family Civic Engagement: Katie Trucco, a junior from Appleton, WI
  • Brian Schoeneck UWEC Alumnus: Alexi Bornemann, a junior from Neenah, WI
  • Tri-County Medical Alliance: Sarah Nichols, a junior from Dallas, WI
  • Villa Health Services: Carmen Flunker, a junior from Eau Claire, WI
  • Wifli: Megan Van De Hey, a junior from De Pere, WI
  • Wisconsin Assisted Living Association: Allison Pedretti, a junior from Genoa, WI
  • WI Health Care Association: Deanna Pierzina, a junior from Menomonie, WI; Miranda Weiss, a sophomore from Mayville, WI; and Briana Weyker, a junior from Belgium, WI

Special thanks to our 2016 CHAASE Banquet Sponsors.

Platinum Sponsors

  • Alden
  • BHS
  • GoldenLiving Centers
  • Life Care Services

Gold Sponsors

  • Atrium Health and Senior Living
  • Care Initiatives
  • Fortis
  • Pathway Health
  • Presbyterian Homes
  • Tealwood Senior Living
  • Villa HealthCare  

Silver Sponsors

  • Ensign
  • Grace Lutheran Foundation
  • LeadingAge WI
  • Martin LM LLC
  • Minnesota Masonic Home
  • M3 Insurance

Bronze Sponsors

  • Bethany St. Joseph
  • Brewster Village
  • Crestview Senior Communities
  • Dove Health Care
  • Grandview Care Center
  • HCR ManorCare
  • MatrixCare

Open House Sponsor

  • Bornemann