Skip to main content

CHAASE Awards 2021 Health Care Administration Scholarships

The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Center for Health Administration and Aging Services Excellence (CHAASE) is pleased to award over $20,000 to health care administration students for the 2021-2022 academic year. Congratulations to the following scholarship recipients:

Alden Health Care & Senior Living:
Brianna Lee, Junior from Maple Grove, MN
Alden opened its first facility in 1971 and today offers over 40 sites throughout the Chicagoland area. The Alden scholarship is awarded to a student who has been involved in mentoring younger students.

American College of Health Care Administrators (ACHCA) Student Chapter:
Danielle Auger, Sophomore from Hugo, MN
Annabelle Howat, Sophomore from Aurora, IL

Awarded to a local and national student member of ACHCA who has shown commitment to the organization and the program.

Brian R. Schoeneck UWEC Alumnus: 
Rouhan Richard, Sophomore from Wausau, WI  
The scholarship is awarded to a student who graduated from high school in Wisconsin and has volunteer or work experience within a non-for profit senior organization

Care Providers of Minnesota:   
Jen Brown, Sophomore from Inver Grove Heights, MN 
A non-profit association with over 800 members representing both non-profit and for-profit organizations.  The scholarship is awarded to a student who works or volunteers in a senior care setting in Minnesota.

Gene Decker: 
Megan Kalthoff, Sophomore from Richmond, MN
Gene Decker is the founder of the UW- Eau Claire, Health Care Administration Program.  The scholarship places a focus on active participation in the student organization of ACHCA. 

Good Samaritan Society: 
Nicole Fraser, Junior from Germantown, WI 
Good Samaritan founded in 1922, is the largest not-for-profit faith-based provider of senior care and services in the United States with more than 240 locations and over 27,000 residents.  The scholarship recognizes a student with diversity in their learning experience.

HCR ManorCare: 
Rachael Bolder, Junior from Milladore, WI 
HCR ManorCare provides services at more than 500 skilled nursing and rehabilitation centers, assisted living facilities, memory care facilities, and outpatient rehabilitation clinics. The scholarship is awarded to a student who engages in volunteer activities that support independence and the well-being of individuals. 

LeadingAge Wisconsin: 
Kady Kochendorfer, Junior from Hudson, WI
Hannah Mehtala,, Junior from Osseo, WI 
LeadingAge Wisconsin, is an association of not-for-profit organizations serving seniors and persons with disabilities.  Association members employ over 38,000 individuals who serve over 48,000 residents/tenants/clients each day. These scholarships are awarded to Wisconsin residents with service in the health care field.

LeadingAge Wisconsin/Value First, Inc.:
Brady Deegan, Sophomore from Albany, WI  
LeadingAge Wisconsin. Value First is committed to the mission of its members and leverages the buying power of LeadingAge members across the country.  Awarded to a student who has demonstrated exceptional dedication to service in the health care field. has a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0, and the applicant is a Wisconsin resident.

Life Care Services: 
Adeline Schoenherr, Junior from Greenwood, WI
Life Care Services is an Iowa based organization with over 30,000 people living in over 100 of their communities throughout the United States. The scholarship recognizes a student with significant involvement in leadership roles/positions.  Minimum 3.25 GPA.

M3 Insurance: 
Elisha Ullmer, Junior from Seymour, WI 
M3 Insurance has more than 25 years of providing strategies and insights to our industry and is a member of several state health care associations.  The scholarship is awarded to a Wisconsin resident with preference given to students with experience in health or safety improvement.

Marquardt Management Services: 
Madison Bates, Junior, Hudson, WI
Awarded to a student engaged in the mentoring/coaching for younger students. A GPA of 3.0 or higher is required. 

Michael J. Christensen:

Emma Court, Junior from Pewaukee, WI
This scholarship was created by Grace Lutheran Foundation to honor their former CEO, Michael Christensen, a long-time leader in health care administration. This scholarship is awarded to a student that has declared an undergraduate major in the health care administration program. A GPA of at least 3.5 and demonstrated leadership skills are required.

NorthShore Healthcare: 
Maggie Oliverius, Sophomore, Monticello, MN
Awarded to a student with experience working or volunteering in senior care and is from Wisconsin, Minnesota, or North Dakota.

Presbyterian Homes: 
Haley Peterson, Junior from Maple Grove, MN
Carissa Prestholdt, Freshman from St. Louis Park, MN
This scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in health care administration who demonstrates faith-based service.

Thomas Schanke Family Civic Engagement:
William Painter, Sophomore from Union Grove, WI 
Thomas, a long time supporter of the program was interested in both the quality of our students and their experiences. The scholarship recognizes a high achieving and civic-minded student. 

Tri County Medical Alliance:
Meadow Wilson, Freshman from Circle Pines, MN 
Awarded to a student who has made a special contribution to the field of Health Care Administration.

Villa HealthCare:
Grace Gobler, Junior from Altoona, WI   
Awarded to a Sophomore or Junior student who is active in ACHCA, has a minimum GPA of 3.5, is a CNA or other health care experience, has worked or volunteered in a senior living center. 

Wisconsin Assisted Living Association (WALA):
McKenna Campbell, Freshman from St. Paul, MN 
Members represent the interest of those who own and manage assisted living communities across the state with education, advocacy and strategic leadership for the industry.  Awarded to a student who volunteers or works in an assisted living setting.

Wisconsin Health Care Association and Wisconsin Center for Assisted Living (WHCA):
Susan Brooks, Junior, from Baraboo, WI
Alex Kummer, Junior from Mondovi, WI
Tessa Peterson, Freshman from Wabasha, WI
Kayla Semrau, Junior from Appleton, WI
Angela Ylitalo, Junior from Ashland, WI
A non-profit trade association dedicated to representing, protecting, and advancing the interests of Wisconsin’s long-term care provider community and the residents they serve. The scholarship is funded through the George F. MacKenzie Scholarship Fund which is supported through an annual benefit golf outing held each July.  

Katherine Schellhorn, Freshmen from Gay Mills, WI
Wipfli is a business consulting and accounting firm providing services to numerous industries. The scholarship is awarded to a student with a minimum 3.0 GPA and volunteer service with activities that strive to maintain dignity, well-being and independence of the elderly or individuals with disabilities.

Scholarships are funded by gifts made through the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Foundation. For more information or to sponsor a scholarship, contact Kiki Beschorner, CHAASE Coordinator.