Office 365: Disable the OneDrive for Business Sync Client

Last updated

WARNING: Do not simply delete the OneDrive for Business folder. Deleting this folder without first turning off the sync client will delete all of your files. If you accidently delete your OneDrive for Business files please refer to the documentation on restoring files from the recycling bin to get your files back.

Due to the OneDrive for Business Sync Client's potentially detrimental effect on your computer's performance, your laptop's battery life, and persistent errors, it may be reasonable to disable the sync client altogether. In order to disable the sync client correctly and permanently please follow the next three steps in order.

Content

Disabling OneDrive for Business on Startup

To disable the OneDrive for Business sync client from starting when you log on to your computer you would:

  1. Click the Start button.
  2. In the search box labeled Search programs and files type in msconfig.exe.
  3. Click on msconfig.exe.
    msconfig.exe
  4. In msconfig, click the Startup tab.
  5. Uncheck the box next to the Microsoft Office 2013 entry where the Command is GROOVE.EXE.
    NOTE: It may help to sort the list alphabetically by clicking on the Startup Item heading.
    microsoft office 365
    (Unchecking the correct Microsoft Office 2013 entry from msconfig)

    groove
    (Notice how the Microsoft Office 2013 entry we have unchecked is linked to GROOVE.EXE)
  6. Click Apply.
  7. Click OK.
  8. Click Exit without restart, we will restart the computer once we complete the next two tasks.

Disabling the OneDrive for Business Sync Client

To close the OneDrive for Business Sync Client you would:

  1. Click the up arrow in the bottom right hand corner of your taskbar to find the OneDrive for Business icon.
    onedrive
  2. Right click on the icon and select Stop syncing a folder…
  3. Select the OneDrive - University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire or OneDrive - UW-Eau Claire folder.
  4. Click Stop syncing.
    stop syncing
  5. Click OK on any popups which come up.
  6. Right click on the OneDrive for Business icon again and select Exit.

Removing OneDrive for Business Data from Your Computer

After disabling the sync client, your OneDrive for Business data will remain on your computer but will no longer be connected to the server. To delete the local copy of your data you would:

  1. Open up the file explorer.
  2. Click your C: drive.
  3. Click Users.
  4. Click your username.
  5. In this folder there will likely be two folders to delete, one called OneDrive - University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire and one called OneDrive for Business - Unsynced Changes.
    NOTE: You may want to look through the unsynced changes folder to see if there is any data in there which you thought should have been synced to OneDrive for Business but had not.
  6. Right click on each folder and select Delete.

Was this article helpful? Yes No

View / Print PDF