UW-Eau Claire e-View newsletter

Breaking News

Schmidt recommended as chancellor

Blugolds are national champs

Matt Loen named NCAA Division III Coach of the Year

Alumni Links

e-View archive

Alumni events

Blugold Babies

Blugold Bliss

Photo album

'The View' online

Alumni success stories

Blugold e-postcards, screensavers

e-View survey


UW-Eau Claire e-View newsletter

News    Events    Class Notes     Alumni Home     Contact Us   Send to a Friend

March 18, 2013

Connect with us:Link to Alumni Association on Facebook

Schmidt recommended as chancellor
Leadership role begins in July
Dr. James Schmidt
Dr. James C. Schmidt

Dr. James C. Schmidt has been recommended as the next chancellor of UW-Eau Claire. He currently serves as vice president for university advancement at Winona State University and executive director of the WSU Foundation Board of Trustees.

UW System President Kevin P. Reilly and a special committee of the UW System Board of Regents announced their recommendation today (March 18). Following action by the full board, scheduled for April 5, Schmidt will step into his new leadership role in July.

Schmidt joined Winona State University in 1998, overseeing development, government relations, marketing and other functions. Working with the WSU Foundation’s president and other community leaders, Schmidt led efforts to secure significant new investments from the state and federal governments, as well as private benefactors, and assets grew significantly. He previously served as vice president for student affairs at Riverland Community College, where he was responsible for admissions, financial aid, diversity, career placement and other programs. He also has held leadership positions at Austin Community College and Minnesota Riverland Technical College. Full story. back to top

Blugolds are national champs
Hockey team claims NCAA Division III championship

Blugold hockey team
Members of the Blugold hockey team celebrate after winning the NCAA Division III national championship.

The UW-Eau Claire men's hockey team capped off one of the best seasons in school history with a 5-3 win over Oswego State (N.Y.) to claim the NCAA Division III national championship.

Playing at Herb Brooks Arena — site of the 1980 "Miracle on Ice" –—making their first Frozen Four appearance in school history, the Blugolds didn't need any miracles to cap off their amazing season; they simply were the better team.

Despite falling behind 2-0, the Blugolds never panicked and responded with four unanswered goals, and that was enough for them to hold on to the victory.

"It was a good game back-and-forth," Blugold coach Matt Loen said. "We've had a couple of games where we've struggled to score goals and I was hoping tonight wasn't going to be that night. I think we just had to get one goal and then tying it up at two, that instilled more confidence in our team."

The Lakers were returning to the championship game for the second straight year, after falling to St. Norbert College last year, but it was the Blugolds who looked like they had been there before early in the game.

A celebratory event in honor of the hockey team’s national championship will be held sometime after spring break (March 18-22). Watch UW-Eau Claire’s home page for the announcement. Full story. back to top

Matt Loen named NCAA Division III Coach of the Year

Hockey coaching staff

The Blugold hockey coaching staff, from left, head coach Matt Loen '08 and assistant coaches Eric Strand '02 and Bob Thorp '98, are all UW=Eau Claire alumni.

UW-Eau Claire men's hockey head coach and Blugold alumnus Matt Loen has done what no other coach has done in program history — guiding his 2013 team to the NCAA Division III Frozen Four, winning an NCHA title and being named the Edward Jeremiah Award winner, given annually to the NCAA Division III Coach of the Year.

The award was announced by the American Hockey Coaches Association's (AHCA) at the student-athlete banquet Thursday night prior to the start of the Frozen Four at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid.

View list of past winners

This year's team was selected to the NCAA Championship for just the second time in program history and the first time since 1989. The Blugolds advanced to the Frozen Four after beating Saint John's University (Minn.) last Wednesday and following with a victory over St. Norbert College on Saturday. Coming into this season, the Blugolds had one national title to their name, an NAIA title in 1984, but had never won a conference championship and had never won an NCAA playoff game. Full story. back to top

UW-Eau Claire homepage link
Excellence. Our Measure, Our Motto, Our Goal.

UW-Eau Claire Alumni HomeUW-Eau Claire HomeUW-Eau Claire Foundation
Copyright © 2013, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Alumni Association
Last Updated: April 11, 2013 Questions/Comments: alumni@uwec.edu