UW-Eau Claire Alumni

Lifetime Excellence Award
2018 Recipients

The Lifetime Excellence Awards are presented to alumni who have demonstrated long-time and successful commitment to their careers and communities. These individuals have made a positive and dramatic impact through enthusiastic dedication to service and living their lives as a testimony to UW-Eau Claire's motto, "Excellence." 

Jane and James MooreJane Webert Moore ’73, bachelor’s degree in nursing, and James Moore  

“Life doesn’t always turn out the way you expect, and this can have positive outcomes.” That’s how Jane Webert Moore sums up her experiences since earning her UW-Eau Claire nursing degree in 1973 and then meeting her future husband, Jim, a New York native, while visiting Italy during a post-graduation trip. One year later, Jane and Jim were married and living in New York, where Jim worked for an international bank. In New York, Jane worked in two successive nursing positions, at the New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center and at Equitable Life Insurance. Then came the birth of the Moores’ son and a family move to Singapore due to a job transfer for Jim, and “an unexpected ‘life education’ process began,” Moore said. “My passion for travel, cultural history, animal welfare and learning the art of Asian cuisines began in earnest.” Back in the U.S., Jane earned a master’s degree in public administration from New York University and pursued a career in human resources at hospitals in New Jersey. After her retirement and a return to living in Manhattan, Jane pursued volunteer opportunities with Operation Smile and the American Museum of Natural History, among others. Following Jim’s retirement and a move to Rhode Island, the Moores became involved in serving local non-profits there. Jane and Jim Moore have been supporters through the UW-Eau Claire Foundation of the clinical simulation lab in UW-Eau Claire’s College of Nursing and Health Sciences, as well as the university’s women’s gymnastics program. Recently, they committed generous annual support for the college’s first funded chair, the Jane W. and James E. Moore Chair in Nursing Research, and they will endow the chair through a future estate gift.


Nancy Fugate Woods

Nancy Fugate Woods ’68, bachelor’s degree in nursing

Dr. Nancy Fugate Woods, described as “a legend in the field of modern American nursing,” led a distinguished career of nearly 50 years as a nurse, professor, researcher and academic dean before retiring in June 2017 from the University of Washington School of Nursing.

A member of the first graduating class from UW-Eau Claire’s nursing program, Woods subsequently earned a master’s degree from the University of Washington and a doctorate from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

A highly respected researcher in the field of women’s health, Woods has been awarded several millions of dollars in grant funds from the National Institutes of Health. She and her colleagues established the first NIH-funded Center for Women’s Health Research at the University of Washington School of Nursing. Woods also helped shape research agendas in the area of women’s health as a member of several NIH committees.

Woods has had nearly 300 journal articles as well as numerous book chapters and books published. Her countless awards and honors have included an Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award from the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association in 1981, and, in 2017, a designation as a “Living Legend” by the American Academy of Nursing.

“Working at something you care about deeply is a gift,” Woods said. “I loved my career as a nurse, educator and researcher. My education as a nurse prepared me to appreciate the diversity of human experience and to help people feel comfort and retain their dignity under difficult circumstances.”

Woods now is working with UW-Eau Claire’s nursing program to facilitate implementation of its first funded nursing chair, the Jane W. and James E. Moore Chair in Nursing Research. Jane and James Moore also are 2018 recipients of the Lifetime Excellence Award.


View the list of past recipients of this award.