Skip to main content
Important COVID-19 updates   READ MORE »

Doctor of Nursing Practice (Post-Master's)

Take it to the next level

The Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree option is for individuals pursuing education in advanced practice nursing. The DNP is a clinical doctorate with two options to prepare nurses to assume leadership roles in the areas of advanced clinical practice (nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist) or nurse executive. The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) has determined the DNP is the preferred graduate degree for advanced practice nurses, including clinical nurse specialists, nurse practitioners, and nurse administrators.

The Doctor of Nursing Practice program at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (

The MSN-to-DNP option includes an advanced clinical practice option (for nurse practitioners or clinical nurse specialists) or a nurse executive option. 

For post-masters students, the DNP program includes 31 credits of nursing courses offered over two and a half years. Program starts in the Spring term.

Learn More

To learn more about the MSN-to-DNP program, please attend a Graduate Program Information Session or contact Dr. Catherine (Kitty) Kenney, Graduate Programs Admission Coordinator at, 715-836-3638.

Application Information

To learn about admission deadlines, requirements and to begin the application process, visit Nursing Admission Requirements and Application Process.

Licensure Information

The United States Department of Education requires institutions to disclose information for programs leading to professional certification or licensure about whether each program meets state educational requirements for initial licensure or certification.  

The requirements of this program meet licensure in the following states: Minnesota, Wisconsin

The requirements of this program do not meet licensure in the following states: N/A

It has not been determined whether the requirements of this program meet licensure in the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

General Resources
Post-Master's Resources
Additional Resources
We want to hear from you

Please enter your name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter a valid phone number

Please enter a message