print header

ORSP Faculty Fellows 

ORSP Faculty Fellows

ORSP Faculty Fellows spend the equivalent of one day a week during the academic year working in ORSP. Fellows explore research from a variety of perspectives and share their insights while receiving a 3-credit course release in Fall and Spring. Fellows also collaborate with ORSP staff and assist with existing programming and proposal review.
Calls for new Faculty Fellows come out in fall of each year. Watch the weekly ORSP email newsletter for details.

Position description for Faculty Fellow

Current ORSP Faculty Fellow

iiouiouioDr. Jeffrey Goodman, associate professor of psychology, is ORSP's 2017-2018 faculty fellow. Jeff is working on issues of assessment of undergraduate research outcomes.

Previous ORSP Faculty Fellows

We thank these Fellows for their fresh ideas, energy, enthusiasm, and hard work—all have played a critical part in ORSP's ability to expand its capabilities and services.

tttgDuring the 2016-2017 academic year, Dr. Ruth Cronje, professor of English, led a community of practice to explore the tricky areas of implementing community based research. She also conducted dialogues with community partners to discuss the perils and promise of academic-community research partnerships. She provided ORSP with a number of recommendations on how to enhance the quality of student and faculty research opportunities that are collaborative with a community partner.


Dr. Sanjukta Chaudhuri, associate professor of economics, researched and developed the background, rationale, and processes through which student participants in a student-faculty collaborative research project can achieve completion of Skills Outcome 3 through a non-credit learning experience.


Dr. Lisa Quinn-Lee, assistant professor of social work, and Dr. Susan Moch, professor of nursing, were selected as the ORSP Faculty Fellow for the 2014-15 academic year. Quinn-Lee and Moch developed a model of client-based research, which could be used by faculty and staff to collaborate with community groups.

MochSusan_2012 lg  QuinnLee_Lisa


Dr. Susan Moch (left) and Dr. Lisa Quinn-Lee (right)

Dr. Bob Eierman, professor of chemistry, was selected as Faculty Fellow in the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs for the 2013-14 academic year. Dr. Eierman led a Community of Practice in development of a campus Definition of Effective Mentoring. Following that, he led a discussion group for mentors about their mentor practice. Members of the initial COP went on to develop criteria and procedures for the Excellence in Mentoring awards.


Dr. David Lonzarich, professor in biology, was the ORSP Faculty Fellow starting spring 2012 and continuing for the 2012-2013 academic year. He worked on a Council on Undergraduate Research-sponsored initiative on advancing institutionalization of undergraduate research and creative activity across the UW system. He led a local faculty team in setting campus goals for undergraduate research. The team developed and deployed a faculty survey that had a high response rate. The resulting report was cited in our application for the AURA award to demonstrate faculty involvement in mentoring undergraduate research both in and out of class.

Dr. Nicholas Phillips, assistant professor of music and 2011-12 Fellow, promoted involvement of undergraduates in scholarship in the Fine Arts.

Dr. Mary Canales, associate professor of nursing and the 2010-11 Fellow, analyzed and promoted faculty fellowship opportunities such as Fulbright, presented on qualitative research methodology, and researched involvement of underrepresented minority students in undergraduate research.


Dr. David Jewett, professor of psychology and the 2009-10 Fellow, spearheaded efforts to develop a system that ensures students are trained in the responsible conduct of research.

David C. Jewett

Dr. Patricia Turner, professor of history and the 2008-09 Fellow, led a revision and update of ORSP's Web site. She also developed the concept for Profiles in Excellence, a brochure that highlights the experiences of alumni who did research at UW-Eau Claire.


Dr. Jennifer Shaddock, professor of English, was the first ORSP Fellow in 2007-08, and she wrote a successful $1.7 million Department of Education Title III Strengthening Institutions Program grant that supported 5 years of institutional work to revamp the "General Education" system to an outcomes-based Liberal Education system. This grant also supported enhancements to advising.