print header

Campus Smoking Policy

A new smoking policy went into effect May 1, 2012 at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

The policy prohibits smoking on campus except in designated areas and on city-owned streets that run through campus. View the policy and map of designated smoking areas.

The policy was created by a committee of UW-Eau Claire staff and students appointed by Chancellor Brian Levin-Stankevich. In 2010 Levin-Stankevich received two different proposals regarding campus smoking restrictions: one from the University Senate (composed of representatives from the university's faculty and academic staff) calling for a tobacco-free campus, and one from the Student Senate objecting to the tobacco ban but recommending that smoking be shifted away from areas heavily traveled by non-smokers, building entrances and air intakes. The chancellor's committee was charged with creating a policy that, as proposed by the Student Senate, would establish fewer smoking areas on campus.