print header


Academic Affairs Advisory Committee for Service-Learning


Membership 2017-2018

  • Benita Wagner, Co-Chair, Coordinator for Service-Learning
  • Harry Jol, Co-Chair, Professor, Department of Geography and Anthropology
  • DeeAnne Peterson-Meyer (2019), Associate Lecturer, Department of Accounting and Finance
  • Matthew Wiggins (2019), Professor, Department of Kinesiology
  • Josephine Arriola (2016), Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Nursing
  • Deb Newman (2016), Associate Director of Housing
  • William Miller, Chair of University Liberal Education Committee, ex officio
  • Katy Rand, Coordinator of Student Leadership and the CALL Program, ex officio
  • Amber Cheyne, Student Representative
  • Robert Nguyen, Student Representative
  • Mary Pengra (2019), Community Representative, HSHS Sacred Heart Hospital

 Charge to the Committee:

  1. Advise the coordinator of Service-Learning on processes and procedures related to completion of the Service-Learning requirement
  2. Promote Service-Learning within the university; help collect information on the varieties of Service-Learning projects coordinated by faculty/staff
  3. Help the Service-Learning Office stay connected with community partners
  4. Review the current guidelines for Service-Learning and provide more specific interpretation that will help those proposing projects; propose any changes to the Academic Policies Committee
  5. Appoint a sub-group to work with the coordinator of Service-Learning to evaluate the occasional proposed project that does not appear to meet the established guidelines
  6. Work with the University Liberal Education Committee and the Assessment Committee to align the procedures for Service-Learning with the outcomes/assessment of Service-Learning as part of Liberal Education reform


  1. Representative from the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
  2. Representative from Housing and Residential Life
  3. One administrative and professional academic staff member from within Academic Affairs
  4. At least one representative from each college
  5. At least two student representatives
  6. Two community representatives
  7. Chair of the University Liberal Education Committee (ex officio)
  8. Coordinator of the Community Action and Lifelong Learning Program (ex officio)

Co-Chairs: Service-Learning Coordinator and a Faculty Member
Term: Three years, rotating