print header
Views all over campus


ULEC Meeting Agenda

The University Liberal Education Committee is responsible for developing criteria and intended learning outcomes for the liberal education core: the core includes General Education and other university-wide course/experience requirements outside the major/minor. It is responsible for recommending such criteria and intended learning outcomes to the Academic Policies Committee and to the University Senate. It serves as the coordinating body for university liberal education reform efforts.

The Committee is responsible for:

  • Periodic review of university graduation requirements outside the major/minor
  • Development of criteria for inclusion of courses and high impact practices in the liberal education core
  • Periodic review of existing course offerings of the liberal education core for re-approval 
  • Working with the Office of Academic Affairs to annually evaluate liberal education core effectiveness in achieving the liberal education goals as passed by the University Senate.


  1. Faculty representatives as follows: seven from the College of Arts and Sciences; two from the College of Business; two from the College of Education and Human Sciences; two from the College of Nursing and Health Sciences; and one from the Library (ex officio and non-voting) (3-year term)
  2. One Academic Staff representative (ex officio and non-voting) (2-year term)
  3. Provost/Vice Chancellor or Designee (ex officio and non-voting)
  4. One student

Elected by/from the College of Arts and Sciences

  • Stephen Drucker (2018), Professor, Department of Chemistry
  • Gene Hood (2019), Professor, Department of Art & Design
  • Thomas Kemp (2017), Professor and Chair, Department of Economics
  • Paula Kleintjes Neff (2018), Professor, Department of Biology
  • Kate Lang (2019), Associate Professor, Department of History
  • Gretchen Peters (2017), Professor, Department of Music and Theatre Arts
  • Laura Suppes (2018), Assistant Professor, Watershed Institute

Elected by/from the College of Nursing and Health Sciences

  • Debra Hofmann (2019), Assistant Professor, Department of Nursing
  • Angela Stombaugh (2019), Associate Professor, Department of Nursing; Director of CETL

Elected by/from the College of Education and Human Sciences

  • Yoonsin Oh (2019), Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology
  • Cathy Thorsen (2018), Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Special Education

Elected by/from the College of Business

  • Paula Lentz (2019), Program Director and Associate Professor, Business Communication
  • William Miller (2017), Associate Professor, Department of Accounting and Finance; Chair of the Committee

Elected by/from Academic Staff

  • VACANT (2017), (ex officio and non-voting)

Elected by/from the Library

  • Hans Kishel (2018), Associate Professor/Research and Instruction Librarian, McIntyre Library (ex officio and non-voting)

Appointed by Student Senate

  • Nathan Altmann, Student Representative

Provost or Designee

  • Mary Hoffman, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (ex officio and non-voting)


  • Sarah Forcier, Program Assistant, Academic Affairs