Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

High school mathematics meet results announced

RELEASED: March 7, 2011

EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire department of mathematics hosted the 29th Annual Regional Mathematics Meet for high school students Feb. 19.

Participants included 36 teams and sponsors from the following area high schools: Altoona, La Crosse Aquinas, Augusta, Black River Falls, Chippewa Falls, Durand, Ellsworth, Math & Science Academy (Woodbury, Minn.), McDonell Central, Memorial, Mondovi, North, Regis, Somerset, Spencer, Stanley-Boyd, Viroqua and West Salem.

Results were as follows:

Division AAA

"The Quasi-Flying Cardinals," representing Chippewa Falls High School and sponsored by Adam Coolidge, topped the division with Jasper Arneberg, Kyle Crocker, Dan Magyar, Adam Schwartz, Davie Speigel and Austin Thielen. Eau Claire Memorial's "Deriving Force," sponsored by Deb Smieja, took second place with Elliott Adler, Brad Haas, Emmali Hanson, Jae Park, Kevin Parker and Kate Van De Loo.

Arneberg went on to take first place in individual competition and was offered a UW-Eau Claire scholarship for four credit hours should he choose to attend the university.

Jameson Krause, Chippewa Falls, and Lucy Wang, Eau Claire Memorial, tied for second place and were both offered three-credit-hour UW-Eau Claire scholarships. Hass and Magyar tied for fourth place and were each offered a one-credit-hour scholarship to UW-Eau Claire. Stephan Hall and Adam Schwartz, both representing Chippewa Falls, were honored for receiving sixth.

Division AA

"Panther Powers," representing West Salem and sponsored by Chris Milne, took first place with Garrett Carlson, Abe Church, Mikaela Hunter, Jennifer Kelley, Zach Rigotti and Chris Stockus. Ellsworth's "Differential Panthers" and Aquinas' "Axes" tied for second place. The "Differential Panthers," sponsored by Mary Rumpel, were represented by Kyle Gustafson, Matt Huppert, Ben Mildenhauer, Bethany Olson, Zach Regnier and Chelsie Shilts. The "Axes," sponsored by Charles Schmidt, were represented by Adam Fiegen, Mike Hagan, Kelly Kroner, Carly Schams, Gabe Tudahl and Judith Wodzak.

Altoona's Alexander Davis, Fiegen and Gustafson tied for first place in individual competition. Each was offered a four-credit-hour UW-Eau Claire scholarship. Stockus took fourth and was offered a one-credit-hour scholarship. Pete Zernia of Aquinas, and Church were honored for placing fifth and sixth respectively.

Division A

"The Binary High Fives," a team from Regis High School sponsored by Sue Garcia, successfully defended their title and took first place with Alex Bates, Phil Bergmann, Steve Bye, Heekyung Lim, Kristina Stark and Mira Won. "Square Root of A," of Augusta, took second place in the division. Susan Maenner sponsored the team, which featured Tyrell Hess, Weston Huth, Taylor Mayenshein, Zach Nelson, Karly Travis and Zach Williams.

Lim took home the individual competition trophy for the third year in a row and was offered a four-credit-hour UW-Eau Claire scholarship. Hess took second and was offered a three-credit-hour scholarship. Regis' Menghan Sun placed third and was offered a two-credit-hour scholarship. Bye took fourth and was offered a one-credit-hour scholarship. Cindy Engman, of the Math & Science Academy, and Paul Buchmann, of McDonell, tied for fifth place.

Scholarships, valued at more than $270 per credit, are funded by a grant from Xcel Energy to the UW-Eau Claire department of mathematics. Photos and additional details from the 2011 Mathematics Meet are available online.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.