Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Faculty recognized for work with nontraditional students

RELEASED: Nov. 4, 2010

EAU CLAIRE — Ten faculty members at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire have been recognized for demonstrating exemplary teaching skills in educating returning adult students.

According to Bonnie Isaacson, nontraditional student adviser, the award is known as the "OWL" certificate, for work with "older, wiser learners."

"The purpose of this award is to recognize faculty who genuinely value 'older, wiser learners' in their classrooms, understand that nontraditional students lead full lives and employ a classroom strategy that is appropriately varied and flexible," said Isaacson, noting that nominations were made by UW-Eau Claire nontraditional students.

The faculty members nominated for fall 2010 were:

  • Dr.William Applebaugh, associate professor of mathematics.
  • Julie Eklund, lecturer of English.
  • Dr. Susan Harrison, associate professor of mathematics.
  • Dr. Rose Jadack, professor of nursing.
  • Russel Peloquin, associate lecturer of kinesiology.
  • Dr. Kris Retherford, professor of communication sciences and disorders.
  • Dr. Kristin Schaupp, assistant professor of philosophy and religious studies.
  • Angela Stombaugh, assistant professor of nursing.
  • Dr. Thao Yang, associate professor of chemistry.
  • Dr. Ezra Zeitler, assistant professor of geography and anthropology.

The presentation of OWL certificates coincides with National Nontraditional Student Awareness Week, which is celebrated annually during the first week of November.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.