Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Biology students receive scholarships

RELEASED: May 17, 2010

EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire biology department recently held a spring reception to honor graduating seniors in biology and present numerous scholarships and other special awards.

The following students received pre-medicine scholarships:

Augustine M. Saiz, Baraboo, received the George and Peggy Fleming Scholarship. He also received the Charles M. and Isabel Ihle Medical Sciences Scholarship.

Alyssa M. Walker, Madison, received the Ed and Beth Hicks Scholarship.

Alexandra Isaacson, Shawano, received the David and Alice Katz Scholarship.

Jaimee M. Hall, Wausau, received the Daniel Kincaid Scholarship.

Adam C. Schneider, Middleton, received the Marcus J. and Ila R. Fay Biology Fund Scholarship, given to help a student with definite plans to pursue graduate study in plant taxonomy or other botanical specialties.

Andrew C. Ludvik, Weyerhaeuser, received the R.A. Fischer Math/Science Scholarship, awarded to a northwestern Wisconsin student who is majoring in mathematics, computer science, chemistry, physics or biology.

Georgeann C. Kujawa, Roseville, Minn., received the Jeffrey and Karen Jones Scholarship, a pre-dentistry scholarsip.

Chelsea R. Sager, Hugo, Minn., received the Jay Mettler Scholarship, a pre-veterinary medicine scholarship.

The following students also received biology scholarships:
Casey M. Gabrhel, Muskego, received the William E. Slagg Scholarship.

Brianna M. Stanton, Waterloo, received the Mary Lou and John Gerberich Biology Scholarship, given to a senior with an emphasis in entomology and/or invertebrates. Stanton also received the Owen Marshall Memorial Biology Scholarship, awarded to a junior or senior with an emphasis in invertebrate biology (entomology, invertebrate zoology and parasitology).

Kaitlyn E. Beaty, Milton, received the Carl S. Schildt Memorial Biology Scholarship, given to a senior biology major within the top 10 percent of students who have demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement.

Kaitlyn H. Hartshorn, Rice Lake, received the Johng Lim Scholarship, established by Dr. Johng Lim, professor emeritus of biology, in 2005 to encourage deserving students interested in experimental biology to further their inquires and original studies. During his 36 years at UW-Eau Claire, Lim worked with others to plan the comprehensive major in biochemistry/molecular biology. Hartshorn also received the Ralph Duxbury Biological Sciences Scholarship, along with Lauren M. Lamers, Appleton.

Melissa A. Kuntz, Madison, received the Judith Ann Johnson Memorial Scholarship, which is used specifically to support UW-Eau Claire student research conducted at Pine Lake.

Jacob D. Ring, Manitowoc, received the Terry Balding Award, named for Dr. Terry Balding, professor emeritus of biology, who retired in 2002 after 35 years in the UW-Eau Claire biology department. This award is for a junior/senior biology major or graduate student who demonstrates a love of the outdoors and plans to become a naturalist or work in a nature-related career. Ring also received the Kurt and Karen Fish Biology Research Scholarship, given to an outstanding biology student conducting undergraduate research in the area of ecology and environment.

Haley R. Highmark, Two Harbors, Minn., received the Jim Fisher Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a non-senior interested in pursuing a career in natural resource management or an environmental field. Highmark also received the William E. Nelson Memorial Biology Scholarship, given to a student planning a career in outdoor environment and/or conservation.

Brianna M. Helgeson, Rothschild, received the Michael Noll Memorial Scholarship. Family and friends of Michael Noll established this scholarship in his honor for a biology education major who has an interest in the outdoors and nature. Noll was a student attending UW-Eau Claire at the time of his death in November 2002. He was an excellent student with a goal of becoming a biology teacher at the middle school or high school level. He also had an avid interest in hunting and fishing and loved the outdoors.

Greg J. Fischer, Fenwood, received the David Estervig Memorial Scholarship. This award was established for seniors majoring in biochemistry/molecular biology who have demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement and have a GPA of at least 3.0 in all courses as well as in biochemistry/molecular biology courses. Fischer also received the Robert and Constance Fults Matson Endowed Scholarship.

Rebecca C. Prall, Eagan, Minn., received the Birdell Snudden Biology Scholarship. This award is given to a student who has had an internship or research experience at Beaver Creek Reserve, has held a position as a naturalist at a park or summer youth camp, or is a biology education major who is currently enrolled in or has completed the method course for biology teaching.
Molly E. Dieterich, Hollandale, received the Steve and Julie Henseler Biology Scholarship.

Isaac A. Kruse, Ellsworth, received the Dr. Oliver S. Owen Scholarship.

Chelsea M. Kufalk, Beaver Dam, received the L. Rodney Sheffer Scholarship.

Timothy D. Lauer, Whitewater, received the Leoba Hogan Scientific Research Scholarship.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.