Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Communication and Journalism Scholarships
Awarded at Recognition Reception

RELEASED: June 30, 2009

EAU CLAIRE — Twenty-six University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students were awarded communication or journalism scholarships at the Communication and Journalism Student Excellence Recognition Reception May 8.

McLean Bennett, Kohler, received the Ann Devroy Fellowship, which includes a $1,400 scholarship, residency at The Washington Post and a summer internship at a Wisconsin newspaper.

Janie Boschma, Colby, also earned a $1,500 award from the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation and a $600 William Randolph Hearst Journalism Scholarship.

Jenny You, Cottage Grove, Minn., received a $5,000 National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation Scholarship, which also includes a summer internship at a licensed radio or television studio. She also received a $150 Cindy Schott Humanitarian Award.

David Taintor, Chanhassen, Minn., received a $500 David Gordon Reporting Scholarship for Spectator Excellence and a $500 Marshall B. Atkinson Journalism Scholarship.

Jordan Munger, Menasha, was awarded a $500 Bill Haupt Advertising Management or Business Management or Editor Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Rob Hanson, Chippewa Falls, received a $250 Henry Lippold Freelance Reporting Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Kari Barrington, Cambridge, was awarded a $250 Wil Pautz Photography or Graphic Design Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Scott Hannan, Black Earth, received a $250 Wallace Weil Advertising Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Kristin Hartman, Green Bay, was awarded a $100 Excellence in Communication Award.

Frank Pellegrino, Shorewood, received a $250 Conner Spectator Excellence and Promise Award.

Heather Mawhiney, Delafield, and Brianna Seidlitz, Chippewa Falls, each were awarded a $1,750 Greater Milwaukee Foundation's Walter Jay and Clara
Charlotte Damm Scholarship. Mawhiney also received a $400 Lee and Esther Sanford Hench Memorial Scholarship.

Aimee LeMay, Sun Prairie, also was awarded a $400 Lee and Esther Sanford Hench Memorial Scholarship.

Scott Hansen, Sheboygan, was awarded a $300 James E. Fields Journalism Scholarship.

Emily Schreiner, Wausau, received a $1,000 William S. Cody Hall Memorial Scholarship. She also received a $750 Donald L. and Geraldine T. Wolfarth Scholarship.

Briana Trenda, Rochester, Minn., received a $100 Joseph Giordano Memorial Scholarship.

Breann Schossow, Houston, Minn., received a $350 Outstanding Journalism Recognition Award.

Peggy Osthelder, Plymouth, was awarded a $500 Catherine and Greg Leaf Public Relations Scholarship.

Vanessa Tait, Lakeland, Minn., was awarded $1,000 and an internship through the Henry Lippold Fellowship. It will include a three-week mentoring and shadowing experience in the news department of KSTP-TV in Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn., during the 2010 winter break.

Kailey Mezera, Anoka, Minn., received a $500 Jill Muenich Organizational Communication Study Abroad Scholarship.

Kimberly Gilland, Hudson, received a $400 Leslie D. Polk Scholarship and a $100 Kevin J. Schieffer Scholarship.

Lindsey Smith, Buffalo, Minn., received a $100 Robert M. Smith Memorial Excellence in Graphics Award and a $250 Donald L. and Geraldine T. Wolfarth Scholarship.

Jamie Judkins, Dresser, was awarded a $500 Sally A. Webb Diversity Tuition in Organizational Communication Scholarship.

Loni Olstad, Westby, received a $1,000 Sally A. Webb Organizational Communication Tuition Scholarship.

Amy Knight, Fall Creek, received a $500 Sally A. Webb Study Abroad for an Organizational Communication Student Scholarship.

Andrew Arends, La Crescent, Minn., and Katelyn Matthews, Brookfield, each received a $250 Donald L. and Geraldine T. Wolfarth Scholarship.

Megan J. Peterson, Elmwood, was recognized as the Society of Professional Journalists 2009 Outstanding Graduate. Trenda was honored as Kappa Tau Alpha Top Scholar. Bennett and Joy Hannemann, Stratford, were recognized as Kappa Tau Alpha spring initiates. KTA is a national journalism honor society.

Eighteen students received awards for excellence from the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association for 2009. Eight others received acknowledgement of excellence recognition for participating in newspaper and broadcast competitions. Thirteen students also were recognized for excellence in research for participating in UW-Eau Claire's 2009 Student Research Day.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.