Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Viennese Ball Scholarship Winners Announced

RELEASED: April 21, 2009

EAU CLAIRE — University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students received awards and scholarships at the university's 35th annual Viennese Ball, held April 17-18.

Proceeds from the two-night event and donations to the Viennese Ball support awards and global study opportunities for UW-Eau Claire students.

Following is a list of students who received Viennese Ball International Study Awards — which recognize international studies, music service and academic excellence, and service to the ball through Davies University Center employment — at the 2009 Viennese Ball.

Heather Phelps, Middleton, received the Wilhelm and Ingrid Brauner Award, given to exchange students from UW-Eau Claire to the University of Graz, Austria. This award is named for Wilhelm and Ingrid Brauner of the Austrian government, recognizing their efforts to develop the ball. Phelps, a political science major, is the daughter of Andy and Carol Phelps.

Austrian students Christoph Monschein, Johannes Schmied and Bettina Sorger received AVL-List Scholarships. The award is given to exchange students from the University of Graz to UW-Eau Claire. Scholarship monies are provided by AVL-List of — Graz Dr. Helmut List, president. A manufacturer of internal combustion engines and measurement technology, AVL-List is the UW-Eau Claire Foundation's first international corporate sponsor.

Monschein, a business communications major from Graz, is the son of Hermine and Franz Monschein. His host parent is William Stein. Schmied, a business administration major from Hartberg, is the son of Christine and Engelbert Schmied. His host parents are Robert and Sue Janke. Sorger, a geography major from St. Gertraud, is the daughter of Hermann and Monika Sorger. Her host parents are Tom and Mary Burt.

The following students received Viennese Ball Senior Music Scholarships, awarded for talent, academic achievement and contributions to the department of music and theatre arts.

  • Rachel Carter, a music education (instrumental) major from Waukesha. Her parents are Brian and Debra Carter.
  • Kimberly Drewiske, a music (performance) major from De Pere. Her parents are Don and Lynn Drewiske.
  • Naomi Hasan, a music education (instrumental) major from Middleton. Her parents are Deborah Bennedsen and Noaman Hasan.
  • Rebecca Lovejoy, a music education (choral) major from Plover. She is the daughter of MaryKay and Vern Lovejoy.
  • Kevin Newell, a music education (performance) major from Edgar. His parents are Suzanne O'Donnell and Curtiss Newell.
  • John Raymond, a music (performance) major from Golden Valley, Minn. His parents are Buzz and Janet Raymond.

Johnathan Turba, Platteville, received the Ada Bors Music Service Award, which recognizes outstanding service to the department of music and theatre arts. The award is named for the originator and coordinator of the annual Viennese Ball through its silver anniversary year, in honor of her service to the community. Turba, a music education (choral) major, is the son of Michael and Patricia Turba.

Three students received W.R. Davies University Center Service Awards, which recognize outstanding service to the Viennese Ball.

  • Lynne Farberg, Janesville, is a mathematics and history education major. The daughter of Therese and Scott Farberg, she is crew chief for the stage crew in Davies Center.
  • Aaron Moen, Plover, is a philosophy major. The son of Al and Bonnie Moen, he is student manager for the university stage crew.
  • Elizabeth Stingl, La Crosse, is an art major. The daughter of Thomas and Sandy Stingl, she is an arts events assistant in the Activities and Programs office in Davies Center.

The Viennese Ball also supports an additional 25 endowed and division scholarships each year.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.