Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Students, Organizations and Advisers Receive 2008 Leadership Awards

RELEASED: March 4, 2008

Honorees at 2008 Student Leadership Recognition Awards
Honorees at the 2008 Student Leadership Recognition Awards included (front row, left to right): Melissa Janssen, Jeremy Clements, Timothy Baumann, Casey Driscoll and (back row, left to right): Kate Fruend, Tiffany Domaszek and Stephanie Schiefelbein. (UW-Eau Claire photo by Bill Hoepner)

EAU CLAIRE — More than 160 students, organizations and advisers were honored during the 2008 Student Leadership Recognition Awards ceremony at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Adam Nelson, a 2003 graduate who is now a UW-Madison law student, presented "Thoughts on Leadership." Founder of Treading Together, a socially progressive company that provides training and coaching services, Nelson received a 2001 Student Leadership Award.

The Circle K Club and Sigma Tau Delta (Theta Zeta) received Student Organization Awards, recognizing their service to the campus and community, and creative programming.

Sponsored by Kiwanis, Circle K Club provides opportunities for volunteer community service, leadership and friendships. With a goal to complete 750 hours of service between April 2007 and March 2008, Circle K completed 580 hours of service after just six months.

"I am impressed with the members of this group, who always display enthusiasm, maturity and professionalism," a nominator wrote. "I can count on them if I need volunteers, even if it's short notice. They're team players who are dedicated to serving the community."

Sigma Tau Delta (Theta Zeta) is an honor society that promotes the mastery of written expression, encourages reading and fosters a spirit of fellowship among people specializing in English. In nominating the honor society for the award, a vice president of a Russian university praised its service to the department of modern languages of Kemerovo State University. For years, the group has sent books about English and American literature, dictionaries, thesauruses and textbooks on English grammar and writing and study materials to Russian students.

Jill Prushiek, academic program director in the College of Education and Human Sciences, received the Student Organization Adviser Award. She advises Kappa Delta Pi (Epsilon Omicron), an honor society that encourages high professional, intellectual and personal standards in the field of education.

Junior Casey Driscoll, Zimmerman, Minn., received the Blugold Spirit Award, inspired by Anne O'Brien, a student who died in August 2003. The award is endowed by Andre and Joanne Gibault through the UW-Eau Claire Foundation. Known for his efforts to promote Blugold spirit, he received five award nominations. Wearing a handmade, unofficial Blugold mascot suit, he earned the nickname Momentum Monday Man for his good-humored work.

The Samuel T.L. Larsen Memorial Award was presented to senior Tiffany Domaszek, Marshfield, for her involvement in campus and community organizations. The award was created by the friends and family of Sammy Larsen, a student who died in a kayaking accident in 2004. Larsen had an enthusiasm for UW-Eau Claire, and the recipient of his award shares his passion.

Four awards honored emerging or established leaders who have made contributions to the university through exemplary service, commitment, leadership and responsible stewardship. Recipients demonstrate dependability, dedication, creativity, resourcefulness, collaboration and enthusiasm through their work, and they challenge themselves and others.

Senior Tim Baumann, River Falls, has been involved in the university chapter of the National Band Association, serving as secretary, vice president, president, and the state and national student representative. Involved in the Collegiate Music Educators National Conference, he attends clinics and instructs middle-school and high-school band programs in the region.

Senior Stephanie Schiefelbein, Hastings, Minn., is the president of Sigma Tau Delta (Theta Zeta). She led the English honor society as it contributed to the English Festival and the American Association of University Women book sale. She organized a trick-or-treat for books event and created a connection with the Boys and Girls Club. She pursues her passion for music as a member the Symphony Band and the Marching Band, and the Eau Claire Municipal Band.

Senior Jeremy Clements, Stoddard, has been involved in organizations such as Students for Health Adventure and Physical Education, and he's been a volunteer for Special Olympics, the YMCA and the Community Learning Center. As a captain and president of the Men's Lacrosse Club, he created and maintained valuable partnerships and helped educate youth in the community. He was instrumental in developing a booster club that raised $1,400 in its inaugural year. The club now has 35 members and it hopes to go to a national tournament.

Junior Hannah Cole, Eau Claire, has received many scholarships and is a member of the University Honors Program and three honor societies. As secretary of the Circle K Club, she has logged more than 100 service hours since April. "When I go more than a week without doing something for someone else, I feel as though I am letting so many people down," she wrote.

The Student Leadership Recognition Awards program is sponsored by the Alumni Association, the offices of the Chancellor and Provost, the Office of Student Development and Diversity, University Centers, the UW-Eau Claire Foundation and the Student Senate.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.