Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

UW-Eau Claire Communication and Journalism Scholarships Awarded at Spring Reception

RELEASED: June 24, 2008

EAU CLAIRE — Twenty-five University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students were awarded communication or journalism scholarships at the Communication and Journalism Student Excellence Recognition Reception held Friday, May 9, in Davies Center.

Janie Boschma, Colby, received the Ann Devroy Fellowship, which includes a $1,400 scholarship, residency at The Washington Post and a summer internship at a Wisconsin newspaper. Boschma also received $2,000 from the Greater Milwaukee Foundation's Walter Jay and Clara Charlotte Damm Fund and a $500 Marshall B. Atkinson Journalism Scholarship, which is funded and awarded by the Eau Claire Press Company.

Angie Jones, Wauwatosa, also earned a $1,500 award from the Greater Milwaukee Foundation's Walter Jay and Clara Charlotte Damm Fund.

Christopher Baylor, Pleasant Prairie, received an $1,800 Arthur L. Murray Memorial Journalism Award.

Lindsey Smith, Buffalo, Minn., received a $1,750 Donald L. and Geraldine T. Wolfarth Scholarship and a $1,000 Sally A. Webb Organizational Communication Tuition Scholarship.

Jules Miller, Green Bay, and Meredith Hyduke, Racine, received $1,000 Dr. Allen Zimmerman Scholarships. Miller also was awarded a $250 Donald L. and Geraldine T. Wolfarth Scholarship.

Megan Peterson, Elmwood, was awarded $1,000 and an internship through the Henry Lippold Fellowship. It will include a three-week mentoring and shadowing experience in the news department of KSTP-TV in Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn., during the 2008 winter break.

Kelsie Bauer, Eau Claire, and Jessica LaVigne, Evansville, each received $600 Lee and Esther Sanford Hench Memorial Scholarships. LaVigne also was awarded a $400 James E. Fields Journalism Scholarship.

Emily Hartwig, Baraboo, received a $600 William Randolph Hearst Journalism Scholarship, a $250 Will Pautz Scholarship for Spectator Excellence in photography/graphic design and a $100 Robert Smith Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Graphics.

Claudia Lozano Aquirre, an international student from Santa Cruz, Bolivia, was awarded a $545 Joanne Friedrick Print Journalism Scholarship.

Eun-sil Lee, an international student from Seoul, South Korea, was awarded a $500 Sally A. Webb International Student Tuition Scholarship.

Tammy Michels, Altoona, received a $500 Sally A. Webb Diversity Tuition Scholarship.

Sasha Sarkkinen, Brantwood, received a $500 Sally A. Webb Tuition Scholarship for Study Abroad for an Organizational Communication Student.

Audrey Mohr, New Ulm, Minn., was awarded a $500 Catherine and Greg Leaf Public Relations Scholarship.

Scott Hansen, Sheboygan, was awarded a $500 Chippewa Valley Newspaper Les Polk Scholarship for Spectator Excellence and a $250 Conner Spectator Excellence and Promise Award.

Tessa Johnsen, Cannon Falls, Minn., and Dustin Luecke, Onalaska, each received $300 Leslie D. Polk Scholarships.

Jake McCormick, Stoughton, was awarded a $350 Outstanding Journalism Recognition Scholarship and a $300 David Gordon Reporting Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Theresa Schneider, Eagan, Minn., was awarded a Bill Haupt Scholarship for Spectator Excellence in business/management or editorial areas.

Breann Schossow, Houston, Minn., was awarded a $250 Henry Lippold Freelance Writing Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Jessica Doolittle, Fairmont, Minn., received the Wallace Weil Scholarship for Spectator Excellence in advertising.

Jenny You, Cottage Grove, Minn., received a $200 Cindy Schott Humanitarian Award.

Jessica Hoel, Eden Prairie, Minn., was awarded a $100 Joseph Giordano Memorial Scholarship and a $100 Kevin J. Schieffer Scholarship.

Claire Couillard, Deerfield, received a $100 Excellence in Communication Award.

Also recognized at the reception were a number of other outstanding students.

Nathaniel Shuda, Wisconsin Rapids, was honored as the Society of Professional Journalists Outstanding Graduate. He graduated in December 2007. Myranda Howard, Burnsville Minn., was honored as the spring 2008 Kappa Tau Alpha Top Scholar. Claire Couillard, Deerfield, and Amanda Spindler, Manitowoc, were recognized as KTA spring initiates. KTA is a national journalism honor society.

Twenty-eight students were also recognized for excellence in leadership and service to the department's student organizations, and 53 students were recognized for excellence in research for participating in the 2008 Student Research Day, collaborating with assistant professors Dr. Martha Fay, Dr. Won Jang, Dr. Nicole Schultz and Dr. Jennifer Becker.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.