Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

College of Nursing and Health Sciences Names Nursing Scholarship Recipients

RELEASED: June 3, 2008

EAU CLAIRE — The College of Nursing and Health Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire announced nursing scholarship recipients for the 2008-09 academic year.

Junior Brenda Blume, Marathon, received the Joyce M. Brown Nursing Scholarship.

The Audrey Bryan Memorial Scholarship was awarded to graduate student Mara Glantz, Lake Elmo, Minn. This award goes to a graduate nursing student with an interest in working with families with children.

Senior Lindsey Starszak, Appleton, received the Loretta Donnellan Nursing Scholarship. She also received a Tri-County Medical Alliance Scholarship, as did sophomore Rachelle Davis, Elk Mound. Recipients must be students from Eau Claire, Dunn or Pepin counties.

Luther Midelfort Foundation Scholarships went to juniors Samantha Blasel, Dorchester, Lindsay Joas, Chippewa Falls, and Christa Spiess, Medford; and to sophomore Megan Gleason, Eau Claire.

A Wisconsin Rural Opportunities Foundation Inc. Scholarship was awarded to sophomore Andrea Kaiser, Marshfield.

Junior Danielle Block, Rochester, Minn., received the Robert and Judith Mickelson Scholarship.

Graduate student Karen Simington, Owen, received the Major John Toivo Kallio Memorial Scholarship. The recipient must be a graduate student with an emphasis in adult or family health nursing and a research or practice interest in AIDS or other chronic illnesses.

Senior Lisa Eddy, Ettrick, received the Jeffrey K. Walker Humanitarian Nursing Scholarship. Selection for this award is based on community service and involvement, which takes precedence over academic achievement.

Dr. Harold and Helena Ray Huston Nursing Scholarships went to junior Rachael Buchholz, Berlin, and graduate student Cynthia Eckes, Chippewa Falls.

Rodaynah Obaid Nursing Scholarships were awarded to juniors Brittany Boyer, Unity, Robyn Hertig, Johnson Creek, and Kasey Kaiser, Edgar; and to senior Lindsey Picking, Crystal, Minn. Recipients must be nursing students who exhibit high academic achievement and records of service and caring.

The Joan M. Wiensch Memorial Scholarship was awarded to junior Erika Price, Chippewa Falls, and senior Bethany Schilling, Fall Creek. Schilling also received the Lila Shelley Nursing Scholarship, which is awarded to a nontraditional student admitted to the nursing program and in good academic standing.

William Bartlett Native American Nursing Scholarships were awarded to juniors Gina La Picca Lehman, Menomonie, and Corissa Niemi, Owen. This scholarship is designated for Native American nursing students successfully nearing the end of their coursework.

Senior Lori Schwichtenberg, Eau Claire, received the Frances Sundet Memorial Scholarship.

A John and Hilde Bacharach Scholarship was awarded to senior Sara Yaron, Mosinee. Nursing recipients of this award must have an emphasis on community health or public health.

Guy and Lauren Brubaker Scholarships were awarded to seniors Jennifer Osladil, Hanover, Pa., and Bethany Radde, Marshfield.

John M Kildahl Family Scholarships were awarded to juniors Hannah Krier, Brookfield; Joseph Pruis, Eagan, Minn.; and Katherine Donnelly, Farmington, Minn. Donnelly also received an Eau Claire Student Nurses Association Scholarship, as did senior Nicole Pettey, Dodge Center, Minn.

Lopas and Cicenas Family Scholarships were awarded to junior Regina Allain, Wausau, and sophomores Briana Romundstad, Onalaska, and Paul Schedler, Appleton. The scholarship is for students from diverse backgrounds who are working to improve their economic status. Wisconsin residents and single parents with financial need are given preference.

The Berniece Wagner Nursing Scholarship was given to graduate student Laurie Agrimson, West St. Paul, Minn.

The John Thurston Scholarship was awarded to graduate student Christine Armstrong, Rice Lake. Preference is given to nontraditional students with financial need.

Graduate student Kelly Aue, Auburndale, received the Bauer Built Family Health Nursing Scholarship.

The Vera Nelson Nursing Scholarship was awarded to junior Joan Foiles, Chippewa Falls. This scholarship is designated for a resident of Chippewa County who plans to remain in the county after graduation. Foiles also received a RN/BSN Scholarship, created by seven former RN students in 1986 to recognize an outstanding student who has already earned a two-year RN degree and is working to complete a bachelor of science in nursing degree.

The Donald and Leatrice Mathison Nursing Scholarship went to junior Lindsey Lieffring, Arkansaw.

Junior Sara Mackiewicz, Rice Lake, received the Marguerite Coffman Memorial Nursing Scholarship.

The Marjorie S. Bottoms Nursing Scholarship was awarded to graduate student Deborah Nelson, Cumberland.

The Willard and Carol Korn Scholarship, which alternates years between a nursing student and an information systems student, went to junior Alicia Schaub, Lakeland, Minn.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.