Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

UW-Eau Claire's College of Business Awards
More Than $20,000 in Scholarships

RELEASED: Aug. 1, 2008

EAU CLAIRE — The College of Business Scholarship Committee at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire recently awarded scholarships to 14 students.

Senior Kristin Bomber, an information systems major from Eau Claire, received a $1,500 Helen B. Andersen Scholarship, open to women majoring in any business major of computer science.

Human resources management major Kelsey Green, a senior from Isanti, Minn., was awarded a $400 Jennifer Alexander Memorial Scholarship. Established in memory of Alexander, a 2006 UW-Eau Claire finance graduate who died unexpectedly at her home near Minneapolis, the scholarship honors the hard work and determination she displayed in all aspects of her life.

Senior Thomas Holtan, a business administration and history double major with a marketing minor from Port Washington, received a Philip Breitman Memorial Scholarship, covering in-state tuition and fees for the 2008-09 academic year.

Senior Tyler Kelly, an accounting and finance double major from Appleton, was awarded a $500 Richard T. Gannon Finance Scholarship.

Management major Julie Germain, a senior from New Richmond, and Bryant Seppelt, an IS business analysis major and international business minor from Foley, Minn., each received $1,000 Lands' End Scholarships, open to outstanding junior or senior students who have been accepted into the College of Business. Recipients also have the opportunity to apply for a 12-week paid internship with Lands' End Inc.

Junior Jenna Smith, a marketing major from Robbinsdale, Minn., received a $1,000 Jacob Leinenkugel Sophomore Diversity Scholarship.

Senior Kristin Highness, a marketing major from Maple Grove, Minn., received a $1,000 Jacob Leinenkugel Junior/Senior Diversity Scholarship.

Health care administration major and management minor Megan Ann Johnson, a junior from Edgar, was awarded a $1,000 Robert D. MacDonald Memorial Scholarship, open to full-time business students who have been admitted into the college. Applicants must demonstrate potential for leadership through participation in college, departmental or university organizations.

Junior Kyle Erickson, an entrepreneur major and marketing minor from Eau Claire, received the Brad Olson Memorial Scholarship. Eligible applicants must major in either business or computer science and have overcome academic difficulty through hard work and academic accomplishment.

Marketing major Sarah Hagen, a senior from Apple Valley, Minn., was awarded a $500 Ronald Schlattman International Study Abroad Award. Established by a former UW-Eau Claire business communication professor and first coordinator of international programs in the College of Business, this scholarship is awarded to students who have declared a business major and are planning to study abroad for the academic year or summer for which they are applying.

Senior Ruth Lane, an accounting and IS systems development major from Eau Claire, received a $2,000 Wells Fargo Diversity Scholarship.

Management major Granger Hamland, a junior from Medford, received a $1,200 Charles F. White Memorial Scholarship, awarded to juniors majoring in business administration, management or marketing who demonstrate strong academic standing and have participated in extracurricular activities at the university.

Senior Amber Boyce-Fisk, a health care administration major from Eau Claire, received a $2,000 Xcel Energy Diversity Scholarship.

The College of Business Scholarship Committee reviewed 171 applications before determining the winners of these scholarships, which are awarded annually. For more information contact Gretchen Hutterli, chair of the committee and assistant dean of the College of Business, at



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.