Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Four Political Science Majors Receive Scholarships from UW-Eau Claire

RELEASED: April 25, 2008

Timothy VanderKamp receives the Karl Andresen Scholarship
Timothy Vander Kamp, center, a senior political science major, received the Karl Andresen Scholarship from Rodd Freitag, political science department chair, left, and Karl Andresen, professor emeritus of political science. (Photo by Bill Hoepner, LTS)

EAU CLAIRE — University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire political science major Timothy Vander Kamp, a senior from Abbotsford, was recently awarded the 19th annual Karl Andresen Scholarship for the 2007-08 academic year. The award is for $5,000.

The scholarship is awarded each year to a graduating senior who demonstrates great potential for success in graduate or law school, said Dr. Rodd Freitag, chair of the political science department.

Vander Kamp and a handful of other students were nominated by faculty members in the fall to apply for the scholarship. During the application process, the students were asked to write a letter to the department indicating their career interests and proving their application to graduate or law school. Faculty chose Vander Kamp as this year's recipient at an April meeting.

Vander Kamp is one of the best students he's seen in the political science program for a while, said Dr. Geoff Peterson, associate professor of political science. Vander Kamp's ability to think across disciplines and his meta-analysis method help him excel, he said, noting the two worked together last summer on a collaborative project.

Vander Kamp said his love of learning led him to receive the award.

"Whether I have a question regarding the content of a lecture or have another question in mind, the professors have always been available for my questions," said Vander Kamp. "I think many of my professors have noticed the real curiosity and passion I have for learning in general and I hope it was clear throughout my undergraduate experience."

After his May graduation from UW-Eau Claire, Vander Kamp will attend Yale Law School in New Haven, Conn.

"I have a strong interest in child advocacy, but I am open to learning about and becoming involved in other fields also," he said.

Vander Kamp said he chose Yale because of the possibilities that will be available to him there. He said the scholarship will help him with the financial burden, but getting this award also gives him confidence that his professors believe he is up for the challenge of Yale.

Three junior political science students also were recognized with Karl Andresen Outstanding Political Science Paper Awards, judged by a committee of faculty members.

Elizabeth McNabb, Cottage Grove, was awarded $200 for her paper, "A Comparison of Consociationalism in Switzerland and Bosnia and Herzegovina." Kendal Gregg, Lake Elmo, Minn., received $200 for her paper, "Douglass and Lincoln: Constitutional Interpretation on the Issue of Slavery." Jean Guthrie, Maplewood, Minn., was awarded $100 for her paper, "Sierra Leone."

Karl Andresen taught in the political science department from 1956-1988 and was known for his warmth and geniality. The Karl Andresen Scholarship Award was established by his former students to recognize a graduating senior who has demonstrated academic excellence and the promise of future academic achievements.

The outstanding term paper awards go to junior political science majors. The awards, funded through donations from alumni and friends of UW-Eau Claire, were presented to the students April 22 during Pi Sigma Alpha's Honors Week reception.

For more information, contact Freitag at 715-836-5044 or



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.