Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Women's Studies Award Winners Honored at UW-Eau Claire Celebration

RELEASED: April 14, 2008

EAU CLAIRE — University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students recently were honored for their undergraduate and graduate research and creative projects on women's issues during the 2008 Women's Studies Awards Celebration.

Aryn Widule, a senior English major from Rhinelander, received first place in the undergraduate research paper category of the Helen X. Sampson award for his paper, "From Woolf to Suleri: The Relationship Between Poetic Prose, Writing from the Body, and the Post-Colonial Condition." Dr. Asha Sen, associate professor of English, was his faculty sponsor.

Junior political science major Abigaile Vercauteren, Green Bay, received the second-place Helen X. Sampson award in the undergraduate research paper category for her paper, "An Exploration of Islamic Feminism in Iran: Tactics, Discrete Activism and the Possibility for Reform." Dr. Helene Minkus, professor of anthropology, was Vercauteren's faculty sponsor.

Graduate student Avril Flaten, Eau Claire, won first place in the undergraduate project category of the Helen X. Sampson award for her project, "Museum Methodology and Feminism: An Analysis of the Chippewa Valley Museum's Paths of the People Exhibit." She completed the project when she was a senior history major. Her faculty sponsor was Karen O'Day, assistant professor of art & design.

Senior Jared Balkman, Appleton, took second place in the same category for his project, "'Like' as a Discourse Marker: Patterns, Perceptions, and Stereotypes." His faculty sponsor was Dr. Erica Benson, assistant professor of English.

Receiving the Helen X. Sampson award in the graduate category was English graduate student Israel Howard, Cadott, for his paper, "Beyond Gender Construction: The Emergence of Alternative Conceptions of Masculinity, Femininity, and Sexuality in Olive Schreiner's 'The Story of an African Farm' and Sarah Grand's 'The Heavenly Twins.'" His faculty sponsor was Dr. Audrey Fessler, assistant professor of English.

The first-place Virgiline and Joseph See Poetry Award went to junior English major Nicole Humphrey, Nekoosa, for a collection of poetry. Her faculty sponsor was Dr. Max Garland, associate professor of English. Second place went to sophomore English major Terri-Lynn Introwitz, Eau Claire/Mondovi, also for a collection of poems. Senior English major Kimberly Roegner, Waterford, took third. Garland was the faculty sponsor. The award honors an outstanding poetry submission by a student who knows the risk it takes to call oneself a poet. Patti See, senior student services coordinator in the Academic Skills Center, is the sponsor.

The Tillie Olsen Award for Fiction or Creative Nonfiction is awarded to students whose work explores progressive gender relationships. Senior English major Elizabeth Vindedahl, Minneapolis, won first place for her fiction piece, "Umbrella Days." Dr. Karen Loeb, professor of English, was her faculty sponsor. Second place went to senior social work major Kelly Powers, Eau Claire/Pepin, for his creative nonfiction piece, "An Apology to the Men Who Disappointed Me: Coming Out as a Rural-Sexual." See was his faculty sponsor. Third Place went to freshman Catherine Emmanuelle, Eau Claire, for her creative nonfiction piece, "No Displaced Homemaker Left Behind." English lecturer Fred Poss was her faculty sponsor. See sponsors the awards.

Senior Dana Bertelsen, Menomonie, a women's studies and history major, received the Mary Katherine and Caroline Kessler Award for her paper, "The Normal School: An Opportunity for Rural Women 1916-1925." Her faculty sponsor was Dr. Kate Lang, associate professor of history. The award is sponsored by Dr. Patricia Quinn, McNair Project director. The award is offered to a student for an outstanding research paper or project in history.

Senior Jenelle Haddad, Slinger/Victoria, Minn., a women's studies and English major, received the Donna C. Turell award for her paper "Moving Forward: From Shame and Silence Towards Strength and Survival." Her faculty sponsor was See. The award, sponsored by Dr. Susan Turell, professor of psychology, is given for an undergraduate or graduate paper or project related to the application of feminism to one's life.

Senior English major Stephanie Hormig, Beloit, received the Cecelia M. Belter award for her community service project. The award recognizes outstanding service by an undergraduate student to promote women's issues through a class project, service learning, program development or student organizing activities. Residence hall director January Boten was her faculty sponsor. Jodi Thesing-Ritter, associate dean of student development, sponsors the award.

Freshman psychology major Andrea Nelson, Eau Claire, was awarded the Mickey Crothers Award, which is offered to an outstanding, first-generation undergraduate female student whose creative expression is related to gender issues or represents an unusual achievement for a woman. Nelson won for her published collection of poetry, "A Soft Sifting."

Named for a pioneer advocate for women's studies and the goals of the women's movement at UW-Eau Claire and in the state of Wisconsin, the Helen X. Sampson Awards are funded through the UW-Eau Claire Foundation, as are all awards presented at the Women's Studies Awards celebration. Some are sponsored by individuals and others by the donations of many. Anyone wishing to contribute to the annual awards can contact the UW-Eau Claire Foundation office at 715-836-5630 or the Women's Studies program office at 715-836-5717.

The celebration was held April 2 in conjunction with Women's Herstory Month.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.