Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Biology Students Receive Scholarships at Biology Department Spring Reception

RELEASED: May 11, 2006

EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire biology department recently held a spring reception to honor graduating seniors in biology and present numerous scholarships, biology research poster awards and other special awards.

The following students received pre-medicine scholarships:

Vinay B. Rao, Eau Claire, received the George and Peggy Fleming Scholarship.

Yaron Fireizen, Herzeliya, Israel, received the Ed and Beth Hicks Scholarship. Fireizon also received the Steve and Julie Henseler Scholarship, established this year. Steve Henseler is an orthodontist and Julie Henseler is a physician. Both are 1989 biology graduates.

Shanna L. Berger, Baldwin, received the David and Alice Katz Scholarship.

Sara M. Peeters, De Pere, received the James and Colleen O'Connor Scholarship.

Katrina L. Guckenberg, Neenah, received the Daniel Kincaid Pre-Medicine Scholarship. Guckenberg also received a Ralph Duxbury Biological Sciences Scholarship, along with Katelin M. Holm, Luck. Holm also received the Marcus and Ila Fay Biology Scholarship, given to help a student with definite plans to pursue graduate study in plant taxonomy or other botanical specialties, and the R.A. Fischer Math/Science Scholarship, awarded to a Northwestern Wisconsin student who is majoring in mathematics, computer science, chemistry, physics or biology. This is the third year the scholarship has been awarded and the first time it has been awarded to a biology major.

The following students received pre-dentistry scholarships:

Sally M. Gelhaus, Medford, received the Jeffrey and Karen Jones Scholarship.

Kurt A. Walejko, Wautoma, received the Paul and Linda Kuehn Scholarship. Walejko also received the Robert G. Fossland Scholarship, given to a senior biology major who has demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement.

The following students also received biology scholarships:

Patrick J. Murack, Waukesha, and Amber L. Hertz, Baraboo, received William E. Slagg Memorial Scholarships. Hertz also received the George R. and Clayton T. Piercy Scholarship, one of the UW-Eau Claire Foundation's largest and most prestigious awards, given to an outstanding biology student credited with special achievements and an excellent GPA. A special university-wide committee selects the recipient. Murack also received the Kurt and Karen Fish Biology Research Scholarship, given to an outstanding biology student conducting undergraduate research in the area of ecology and environment, and the John & Coleen Travis Pre-Veterinary Scholarship, established this spring. Dr. Travis, a 1985 UW-Eau Claire biology graduate, owns a Vet clinic in Sheboygan where Mrs. Travis is a technician.

Matthew T. Brewer, Clintonville, Kevin J. Buffington, Appleton, and Kari A. Gullickson, Chippewa Falls, received the Mary Lou and John Gerberich Scholarship, given to a senior with an emphasis in entomology and/or invertebrates. Brewer also received the Owen Marshall Memorial Fund, awarded to a junior or senior with an emphasis in invertebrate biology (entomology, invertebrate zoology, and parasitology), and the Birdell Snudden Scholarship. This award is given to a student who has had an internship or research experience at Beaver Creek Reserve, has held a position as a naturalist at a park or summer youth camp, or is a biology education major who is currently enrolled in or has completed the method course for teaching of biology.

Joshua W. Kinsman, LaValle, was awarded the Jerry and Elizabeth Smith Excellence in Science Scholarship for Environmental Science, which carries with it a full tuition award for next year. This scholarship is given to a junior majoring in one or more of the natural sciences. Kinsman also received the Carl S. Schildt Memorial Scholarship, given to a senior biology major within the top 10 percent of students who have demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement.

Lori L. Scardino, Eau Claire, received the Johng Lim Scholarship, established by Dr. Lim in 2005 to encourage deserving students interested in experimental biology to further their inquires and original studies. During his 36 years at UW-Eau Claire, Lim worked with others to plan the comprehensive major in biochemistry/molecular biology.

Jessica J. Lueck, Chippewa Falls, received the Judith Ann Johnson Memorial Fund, which is used specifically to support UW-Eau Claire student research conducted at Pine Lake.

William D. Hintz, Waseca, received the Terry Balding Award, named for a professor and wildlife ecologist who retired in 2002 after 35 years in the UW-Eau Claire department of biology. This award is for a junior/senior biology major or graduate student, recommended for a field-oriented biologist, who demonstrates a love of the outdoors and plans to become a naturalist or work in a nature related career.

Matthew J. Troia, Madison, received the Jim Fisher Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a non-senior interested in pursuing a career in natural resource management or the environmental field.

Jennifer L. Osborn, Eau Claire, received the Michael Noll Memorial Scholarship. Family and friends of Michael Noll established this scholarship in his honor for a Biology Education major who has an interest in the outdoors and nature. Noll was a student attending UW-Eau Claire at the time of his death in November 2002. He was an excellent student with a goal of becoming a Biology teacher at the middle or high school level. He also had an avid interest in hunting and fishing and loved the outdoors.

Jennie M. Jacobson, Spring Valley, received the William E. Nelson Memorial Scholarship, given to a student planning a career in outdoor environment and/or conservation.

Megan A. O’Brien, Eau Claire, received the Outstanding Senior Award for a student with a biochemistry/molecular biology major. She also received the David Estervig Memorial Award. This award was established for seniors majoring in biochemistry/molecular biology who have demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement and have a grade point average of at least 3.0 cumulative as well as in biochemistry/molecular biology courses.

Anna C. Baker, Eau Claire, received the Christine Gritzmacher Science Education Outreach Award, given to students in the sciences who have been selected to work with faculty members who are involved in science education outreach activities. Baker will work with Johanna Oosterwyk in the greenhouse.

Chelsea J. Gudgeon, La Farge, received the Outstanding Senior Award for a student with a biology liberal arts major.

Amanda C. Hill, Madison, received the Outstanding Senior Award for a student with a biology education major.

Kelsey Fasteland, Two Harbors, Minn., received the Outstanding Senior Award for service to the biology department, university and community.

Darwin Wittrock, professor of biology, received the Vic and Eileen Cvancara Outstanding Teaching Award for 2006.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.