Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Twenty-seven UW-Eau Claire Students Receive Communication and Journalism Scholarships

RELEASED: May 5, 2006

EAU CLAIRE — Twenty-seven University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students were recently notified that they were selected to receive communication or journalism scholarships, which will be awarded during the Communication and Journalism Student Excellence Recognition Reception to be held from 3 to 4:30 p.m. Friday, May 12, in the Tamarack Room of Davies Center.

The Office of Student Development and Diversity also selected three communication and journalism students for their Outstanding Senior Students. Adam Stapel, Marinette, Amanda Filtz, Stevens Point, and Holly Patoka, Colgate, were chosen on the basis of their academic achievement, service and accomplishments at UW-Eau Claire.

Sara Boyd, Lino Lakes, Minn., received the Ann Devroy Fellowship, which includes a $1,400 scholarship, residency at The Washington Post and a summer internship at a Wisconsin newspaper. Boyd also received the Arthur L. Murray Memorial Journalism Award for $1,250.

Amy Oldakowski, Sobieski, received a $1,500 Donald L. and Geraldine T. Wolfarth Scholarship.

Lindsay Lutzke, Manitowoc, received a $1,000 Sally A. Webb Organizational Communication Tuition Scholarship and a $500 Donald L. and Geraldine T. Wolfarth Scholarship.

Breanna Christensen, Coon Rapids, Minn., was awarded a $1,250 Arthur L. Murray Memorial Journalism Award.

Sara Norgon, Roseville, Minn., was awarded a $600 Lee and Esther Sanford Hench Memorial Scholarship, a $350 James E. Fields Journalism Scholarship and a $250 Will Pautz Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Sarah Rasmussen, Neenah, was awarded $1,000 and an internship through the Henry Lippold Fellowship. The first Henry Lippold Fellowship was awarded to Adam Stapel in January 2006. It included a three-week mentoring and shadowing experience at KSTP-TV in St. Paul. Rasmussen's mentor location has not been announced at this time.

Leah Rado, Rice Lake, received a $500 Marshall B. Atkinson Journalism Scholarship, which is funded and awarded by the Eau Claire Press Company. She was also awarded a $500 Strategic Communications Scholarship in Print Journalism.

Trevor Kupfer, Grafton, received a $500 Rice Lake Chronotype Jerry Conner Scholarship for Spectator Excellence and a $200 Cindy Schott Humanitarian Award.

Emily Rae Hartwig, Baraboo, was awarded a $300 Bill Haupt Scholarship for Spectator Excellence and a $250 Conner Spectator Excellence and Promise Award.

Evan Perrault, Colgate, received a $600 William Randolph Hearst Journalism Scholarship.

Todd Sauve, Spring Valley, and Luke Nyberg, Hazelhurst, each received a $600 Dr. Alan Zimmerman Scholarship.

Leah Gangl, Shoreview, Minn., was awarded a $500 Catherine and Greg Leaf Public Relations Scholarship.

Nathaniel Shuda, Wisconsin Rapids, received a $300 Leslie D. Polk Scholarship and a $300 Dave Gordon Reporting Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Matthew Werlein, Waukesha, received a $600 Lee and Esther Sanford Hench Memorial Scholarship.

Nicolee Mensing, Rosemount, Minn., received a $500 Sally A. Webb Tuition Scholarship for Study Abroad.

Yi-Woon Ng, an international student from Malaysia, was awarded a $500 Sally A. Webb International Student Tuition Scholarship.

Lucas Tork, Wisconsin Rapids, received a $500 Sally A. Webb Diversity Tuition Scholarship.

Mark Schaaf, Prairie du Chien, was awarded a $350 Outstanding Journalism Recognition Scholarship.

Emily MacLachlan, Rogers, Minn., received a $300 Leslie D. Polk Scholarship.

Kathlyn Hotynski, Menasha, received a $250 Chippewa Valley Newspaper Les Polk Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Lindsay Green, Maple Grove, Minn., received a $250 Wallace Weil Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Nicole Strittmater, Sheboygan Falls, was awarded a $250 Henry Lippold Freelance Writing Scholarship for Spectator Excellence.

Rebecca Cheever, Ashland, received a $100 Excellence in Communication Award.

Drew Lewis, Austin, Minn., was awarded a $100 Robert Smith Memorial Scholarship.

Katie Miles, Couderay, was awarded a $100 Joseph Giordano Memorial Scholarship.

Rachel Dederich, Menomonee Falls, was awarded a $100 Kevin J. Schieffer Scholarship.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.