Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home

Student Leadership Awards Announced
at UW-Eau Claire Recognition Ceremony

RELEASED: March 6, 2006

EAU CLAIRE — Four student organizations, three student organization advisers, and 203 individual nominees were recognized Feb. 16 at the 2006 Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

The accomplishments of student leaders, organizations and organization advisers are celebrated at the annual campus wide program. The ceremony began with remarks by Dr. Susan Harrison, acting associate dean for student development and diversity. Rick Schroder, owner and chief executive officer of the Trident Corporation, addressed the assembled faculty, staff, students, friends and family with "Thoughts on Leadership."

Awards recognizing student organizations and advisers that have demonstrated distinguished service to campus and community, creative programming, and involvement in the university were presented by John Bachmeier, director of alumni relations.

Two Student Organization Awards were presented, to American Chemical Society - Student Affiliate and Student Wisconsin Education Association.

Students join the American Chemical Society to become more involved with the chemistry department and assist others on and off campus through the group's coordinated programs. The American Chemical Society is best known for the Chemistry Demo Show, an organizational program designed to spark an interest in science in elementary and middle school students.

The Student Wisconsin Education Association provides students in the education fields with information and experiences not provided in their academic coursework. As part of its commitment to professional development, Student WEA often invites guest speakers to its general meetings to discuss current issues in education. Every year, Student WEA organizes tutoring for students in the community, and the group also organizes book drives and raises money for Toys-for-Tots during the Christmas season.

The Student Organization Advisor Award was presented to Paula Stuettgen, senior coordinator for student development and programs in the Activities and Programs office. She serves as the adviser for the University Activities Commission of the Student Senate, Sigma Sigma Sigma, Mortar Board, Omicron Delta Kappa, Order of Omega, Golden Key Honour Society, Alpha Lambda Delta, Phi Eta Sigma, and the Society of Participating Honor Students. Always a proponent for student involvement, Stuettgen holds meetings with the members of all the organizations she advises, encourages student participation in the planning and conducting of campus events, and assists the organizations in their promotional and recruitment efforts.

Six of the 203 outstanding student leaders who were nominated by faculty, staff and students received the Student Leadership Awards, also presented by Bachmeier.

Avril Flaten, a religious studies major from Eau Claire, has been director of the Academic Affairs Commission of the Student Senate since March 2005. She served as a member of the Chancellor Search and Screen Committee, instrumental in the successful process that resulted in Dr. Brian Levin-Stankevich being named UW-Eau Claire's next Chancellor. Flaten's other involvement includes membership on the Viennese Ball Committee, the Service-Learning Advisory Committee and the Instructional Resource Rental Committee.

Thomas Hahn, a psychology major from Platteville, has served as president of the Golden Key International Honour Society and the Phi Eta Sigma honor society. Described as "talented, dedicated and organized" by one of his nominators, Hahn is also a member of the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership Society, Honors Program Organization and the Newman Student Association.

Catherine Heidke, a music education-choral emphasis major from Muskego, is also pursuing a fine arts administration certificate at UW-Eau Claire. During her tenure at the university she has been a resident assistant with Housing and Residence Life, a special events co-chair with the Homecoming committee, and the founder and music director for Audacious A Cappella Group.

Jessica Janiuk, a public communication major from Delafield, is station manager of TV10, Residence Hall Cable Channel 10, which she joined in January 2003. Janiuk is also on the student staff of Learning Technology Services where she fights viruses and spy ware on faculty, staff and student computers. Director of the Student Life and Diversity Commission of the Student Senate, she is a public speaker on transgender education.

As president of the Society of Participating Honor Students and an instructor at the Eagle's View Ropes Course, Lisa Sergot, a photography major from Grand Rapids, Minn., is a Campus Ambassador and a trip leader for Outdoor Recreation. Off campus, she donates her time and energy to benefit organizations like the Boys and Girls Club.

In recognition of her collaborative ventures both on and off campus, Sergot received the Blugold Spirit Award. Inspired by Anne O'Brien, a UW-Eau Claire student who died in August 2003, the Blugold Spirit Award is endowed by Andre and Joanne Gibault through the UW-Eau Claire Foundation.

The final award of the evening was the first annual Samuel T.L. Larsen Memorial Award. This award, established by the friends and family of Sammy Larsen, was created to remember and honor the UW-Eau Claire student who died in a kayaking accident during the summer of 2004. Recipients will be recognized for the enthusiasm and support for UW-Eau Claire exemplified by Larsen.

Emily Ascher, an organizational communication major from Sparta, was recently asked to serve as vice president of the Student Senate after the previous vice president had to step down. At that time, Ascher was director of the Organizations Commission of the Student Senate, helping student organizations become officially recognized on campus. Her involvement and support of the university includes her work with Housing and Residence Life, where she serves as a resident assistant at Putnam Hall and a member of the National Residence Hall Honorary. Whether she is guiding tours as a Campus Ambassador or helping the Homecoming committee plan events, Ascher was judged to demonstrate a passion for the university that merits the Samuel T.L. Larsen Memorial Award.

The Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony is sponsored annually by the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association, the Offices of the Chancellor and Provost, the Office of Student Development and Diversity, University Centers and Programs, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Foundation, and the UW-Eau Claire Student Senate.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.