Back to:
Current year's news releases
All news releases
News and information home

Students, Advisers and Organizations Recognized
for Leadership at UW-Eau Claire

RELEASED: March 21, 2005

EAU CLAIRE — Three student organizations, five student organization advisers and 197 individual nominees were recognized at the 2005 Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire on Feb. 17.

The accomplishments of student leaders, organizations and organization advisers are celebrated at the annual campus-wide program. The ceremony began with remarks by Dr. Kimberly Barrett, associate vice chancellor for student development and diversity. Charles Grossklaus, chief executive officer and president of Royal Credit Union, addressed the assembled faculty, staff, students, friends and family with "Thoughts on Leadership."

Awards recognizing student organizations and advisers that have demonstrated distinguished service to campus and community, creative programming, and involvement in the university were the first presented by William Hutchinson, president of the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association.

Two Student Organization Awards were presented — to Circle K International and Sigma Tau Delta, the English honor society.

Circle K International has a mission of providing service to the campus and surrounding community. Consisting of 18 members, Circle K participates in Adopt-a-Mall, the Community Action Day and Service Learning Fair, and other events. For the past 11 years Circle K's best-known event, The Gift of Love, has helped to make students on campus aware of the needs of the greater community. Members collect blankets, toys, winter coats, money and other items for the Salvation Army.

With a membership of approximately 15 students, Sigma Tau Delta sponsors book sales, holds a Children's Writing Contest, participates in the annual UW-Eau Claire English Festival, and operates The Word, an online newsletter. Members can join the national organization to receive scholarships, attend conferences and gain assistance in career choices.

The Student Organization Advisor Award was presented to John Lee, classroom services manager in the Teaching and Learning Technology Development Center. Lee advises Circle K International. A charter member of the organization, he lets the leaders of the club lead the way they feel it should be done, offering suggestions and advice when asked. According to his nominator, "John deserves this recognition because of the dedication and support he provides to Circle K and its members. He has always been a key part to the success of Circle K and is a reason why we are able to perform the service to our community."

Five of the 197 outstanding student leaders who were nominated by faculty, staff and students received the Student Leadership Awards.

Kyle Buchmann, a business management major from Shell Lake, is the president of the club baseball team at UW-Eau Claire and guided them to the national championship tournament last year in Florida. He has been a Campus Ambassador for the last three years and is a student building manager in Davies Center.

Amanda Hill, a biology and French major from Madison, is an established leader who has excelled in her efforts on behalf of the University Activities Commission of the Student Senate. She began as a member of the UAC Cabin Committee and has risen to programming director, the commission's highest rank. All the while, she has been a member of the university stage crew, Omicron Delta Kappa and president of the French Club. According to one of her nominators, "Amanda is a qualified and, among her peers, recognized student leader on this campus."

As president of Circle K International, Nicole Kalmon organizes all weekly meetings, monthly e-board meetings, and twice a semester board meetings. A biology and Spanish major from Medford, she is an emerging leader who helps out the community by participating in The Gift of Love, Big Falls County Park clean-ups and Christmas caroling. In recognition of her collaborative ventures both on and off-campus, Kalmon received the first annual Blugold Spirit Award. This award was inspired by Anne O'Brien, a UW-Eau Claire student who died August 2003. The Andre Gibault family endows the award through the UW-Eau Claire Foundation.

As an intern for the New Voters Project, Lindsey Nelson was able to creatively use her leadership experience and innovative skills to work with her peers to encourage civic engagement. A criminal justice major from St. Paul, Minn., she is also a Wisconsin Campus Compact Fellow communicating with other universities to gain ideas and programs to implement on-campus. As director of the Public Relations Commission of the Student Senate, Nelson has collaborated with other senate commissions on events such as the annual Thanksgiving Food Drive.

Lori Scardino is a junior from Eau Claire, majoring in chemistry. She is an officer in Sigma Gamma Zeta II, the nontraditional student honor society at UW-Eau Claire. Her career goals include teaching chemistry at a university level and being involved in cutting-edge biomedical research. Lori has been an active member of the American Chemical Society student affiliate for the last two years and is president-elect this year.

The Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony is sponsored annually by the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association, the Offices of the Chancellor and Provost, the Office of Student Development and Diversity, University Centers and Programs, the UW-Eau Claire Foundation and the UW-Eau Claire Student Senate.



Back to:
Current year's news releases

All news releases
News and information home


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.