This publication describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note some links may be outdated.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau Schofield Hall 201 Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

SPJ Honors UW-Eau Claire Broadcast Students

MAILED: Oct. 4, 2002

         EAU CLAIRE  The Society of Professional Journalists recently honored two University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire broadcast journalism majors with National Mark of Excellence Awards at its 2002 national convention in Fort Worth, Texas.
         Seniors Lisa Klinkner, Appleton, and Jeffrey Charpentier, Eau Claire, were among more than 40 students nationwide to receive an award.
          Klinkner won for best spot news reporting for radio with her “Salt Shortage” story, while Charpentier’s “Energy” was selected as the best in-depth reporting radio piece.
          Klinkner’s story aired on WUEC-FM in Eau Claire during the heavy winter of 2001. The city of Eau Claire was running low on road salt, and more snow was in the forecast. Klinkner, who works as a part-time reporter at WQOW-18 in Eau Claire, did the story while volunteering for WUEC.
          “I was pretty excited and shocked,” Klinkner said of winning the award. “For a quick turnaround story, I’m really happy it made it as far as it did.”
          Charpentier’s segment discussed using solar panels and wind generators as cleaner and more environmentally friendly power sources than heating oil. Charpentier, a reporter with WUEC, said he also was very surprised with the honor.
          “The people from UW-Eau Claire’s chapter of SPJ contacted me and said they thought it was a good story and that they would like to enter it into the competition,’” he said. “I didn’t think anything of it and truly felt, ‘Okay I’ll go along with it, but there’s no chance I’ll win.’”
          Before reaching the national competition, Klinkner and Charpentier placed first in SPJ’s regional competition last spring.
          The competition drew more than 2,700 entries in 45 categories for print, radio, television and online collegiate journalism. The society began presenting the awards in 1972.
         Contest judges are selected from among SPJ’s members and from non-members around the country, each of whom has established a reputation for journalistic excellence.

UW-Eau Claire Home  News Bureau
Judy Berthiaume
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: October 4, 2002