This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau Schofield Hall 201 Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

Scholarships Awarded to
Communication and Journalism Students 

MAILED: May 20, 2002

         EAU CLAIRE  Sixteen University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students were awarded scholarships during the Communication and Journalism Convocation May 6.
         Jonathan Gneiser, Berlin, and Elizabeth Steward, Chippewa Falls, received $2,500 Milwaukee Foundation Journal Foundation/Walter Jay and Clara Charlotte Damm Fund scholarships. Tim Ruzek, Austin, Minn., received the $1,400 Ann Devroy Fellowship, which provides a The Washington Post residency and an internship at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.
         Shelley Berg, Eau Claire, received the $1,000 Sally A. Webb Organizational Communication Tuition Scholarship and the $500 Sally A. Webb Tuition Scholarship for Study Abroad for an organizational communication student. The $600 Leslie Polk Scholarship went to Wendy Neuberger, Menomonee Falls.
         Sara Schultz, Kewaunee, received a $500 William Randolph Hearst Journalism Scholarship and the $500 Joanne Friedrick Journalism Scholarship. Schultz and Sarah Krans, Gillett, received $750 Lee and Esther Sanford Hench Memorial Scholarships. Becky Hart, Fridley, Minn., received the $500 Marshall B. Atkinson Journalism Scholarship and the $350 Outstanding Journalism Recognition.
         The $625 Arthur L. Murray Memorial Journalism Awards went to Matt Tomlinson, Madison; Mariel Carter Marinette; Michael Mack, Waconia, Minn., and Thomas Schlagel, Mendota Heights, Minn. Schlagel also received the $250 Cindy Schott Humanitarian Award and the $350 James E. Fields Journalism Scholarship.
         Tim Ahrens, Rogers, Minn., received the $250 Conner Award for Spectator Excellence and Promise. Aaron Unseth, Plato, Minn., received the $100 Excellence in Communication Award. Megan Werner, New Holstein, received the $100 Joseph Giordano Memorial Award. And Anna Nelson, Weston, received the $50 Robert Smith Memorial Scholarship.

UW-Eau Claire Home  News Bureau
Judy Berthiaume
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: May 20, 2002