This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau Schofield Hall 201 Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

Nursing Students and Leaders
Elected to Honor Society 

MAILED: May 8, 2002

         EAU CLAIRE  Thirty-two undergraduate or recently graduated students, 5 graduate students, and 13 nurse leaders at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Clare were recently elected to membership in Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. Two international members, from Germany and Norway, were also elected. They were inducted April 27 through UW-Eau Claire's Delta Phi chapter of Sigma Theta Tau.
         Sigma Theta Tau International is an organization of nurse leaders, scholars and researchers. The honor society, founded at Indiana University in 1922, currently has 406 chapters at 503 colleges and universities in Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Pakistan, South Korea, Taiwan, and the United States. The society has 120,000 active members who live in more than 90 countries and territories.
         Membership in the society is awarded to bachelor's, master's and doctoral nursing candidates who achieve high scholastic averages and to graduates of nursing programs who made outstanding contributions to nursing.
         For more information regarding membership, call Dr. Karen Solheim (836-4012) or Cheryl Brandt, 836-4024.
         Following are the individuals who were inducted into Sigma Theta Tau:


UW-Eau Claire Home  News Bureau
Judy Berthiaume
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: May 8, 2002