This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau Schofield Hall 201 Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire Students, Organizations
And Advisers Recognized at Awards Ceremony 

MAILED: March 1, 2002

         EAU CLAIRE  Eight student organizations, 11 student organization advisers and 164 individual nominees were recognized at the 2002 Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire on Feb. 20.
         The accomplishments of student leaders, organizations and organization advisers are celebrated at the annual campus-wide program. The ceremony began with remarks by Dr. Ronald Satz, provost and vice chancellor, and Chancellor Donald Mash. Jake Leinenkugel, president of Leinenkugel Brewing Company, addressed the assembled faculty, staff, students, friends and family with "Thoughts on Leadership."
         Awards recognizing student organizations and advisers that have demonstrated distinguished service to campus and community, creative programming, and involvement in the university were presented by Susan Tietz, former University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Foundation board member and chair of the College of Business Advisory Council.
         Two Student Organization Awards were presented - to Beta Upsilon Sigma, and to the Student Homeless Awareness Chapter.
         With approximately 170 members, Beta Upsilon Sigma offers its student members an opportunity to gain valuable organizational and business experience, develop leadership skills and interact with fellow business students. The most notable of Beta Upsilon Sigma's many contributions to campus life is its organization and production of the annual Career Conference, cosponsored with Career Services every October.
         The goal of the Student Homeless Awareness Chapter is to stop homelessness through awareness education. SHAC works toward its goal by volunteering at local shelters and by fund-raising efforts that directly affect homeless citizens of the Chippewa Valley community. The organization has been involved in the UW-Eau Claire Lifeline food drive and has twice held an informational "Homeless Awareness Rally" on campus.
The Student Organization Advisor Award was presented to Toni Poll-Sorensen, professor of kinesiology and athletics, who advises the Concert Dance Company. She promotes involvement in the organization by encouraging students to audition for the company, announcing these opportunities in the dance classes she teaches.
         "Toni has made this organization tick by her humble leadership," wrote Poll-Sorensen's nominator. "She donates her time, talent and professional advice for these simple reasons: she loves her work; she loves dance and seeing others succeed and grow with the company."
         Five of the 164 outstanding student leaders who were nominated by faculty, staff and students received the Student Leadership Awards, also presented by Susan Tietz.
         Timothy Michael Doleysh, Appleton, a senior music major, is a member of 13 different organizations at UW-Eau Claire. One of his most significant leadership experiences is his current involvement with the National Band Association, a nationally recognized organization that promotes band performance and education. He is currently working on the formation and organization of a student chapter of the NBA at UW-Eau Claire. In addition, he is a member of one of the top concert bands on campus, the Wind Symphony.
         Kristin Ann Kranzusch, Appleton, is a freshman majoring in elementary education. The president of Mock Trial at UW-Eau Claire, she has been involved in the program since high school and decided to start a Mock Trial student organization when she arrived on campus. She wrote the constitution, met with political science instructors, found an advisor and recruited members. The organization is now 12 members strong and has begun competition.
         Meghan McDonald, Racine, a sophomore sociology major, is president of National Residence Hall Honorary. She is a pediatric/neurosurgery volunteer at Sacred Heart Hospital, a college buddy for the Special Olympics Best Buddy program, and president of Towers Hall Council. She participated in the March of Dimes pledge walk and was praised for her leadership in coordinating Parents Weekend 2001.
         Rebecca Risberg, Bloomington, Minn., is a senior majoring in music therapy. She chairs the presentation committee of the American Music Therapy Association, and has participated in such activities as the Harvest Festival and Girl Scouts Career Day. She serves on various campus committees and is a very proactive leader.
         Kelly Beth Stringer, Sun Prairie, is a senior majoring in special education. A member of several campus organizations, including the Student Council for Exceptional Children, Veterans of Study Abroad, Mortar Board and Omicron Delta Kappa, she is the type of student leader who participates, supports, suggests and works hard to make every organization she belongs to a success.
         The Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony is sponsored annually by the Activities and Programs office, the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association, the Offices of the Chancellor and Provost, Chartwells Educational Dining Services, the Dean of Students Office, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Foundation Inc., and the UW-Eau Claire Student Senate.

UW-Eau Claire Home  News Bureau
Judy Berthiaume
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: March 1, 2002