This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau Schofield Hall 201 Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire Announces Results
Of 2002 Mathematics Meet 

MAILED: Feb. 21, 2002

         EAU CLAIRE  A record number of teams from 19 western Wisconsin high schools participated in the 20th annual regional Mathematics Meet held Feb. 16 at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. A total of 212 students on 36 teams participated in the event.
         The team from Park Center Senior High School, Brooklyn Park, Minn., the Pi-rats Green, earned first place in the large school AAA division with 172 points. The Eau Claire Memorial High School team, the Integration Station, won second place with 152 points.
         The Park Center team featured Krystell Cachon, Tiffany Hill, Lance Oberembt, Michael Purdham, Mike Sowers, and Brandon Thompson.
         Sowers took first place in Class AAA individual honors. He was offered a $500 UW- Eau Claire scholarship funded by a grant from Xcel Energy to the sponsor, the UW-Eau Claire mathematics department.
         Second place AAA honors went to Thompson, who was offered a $300 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
         Tied for third-place honors were Molly Menard and Nick DeMeuse, both from Eau Claire Memorial. Each was offered a $200 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
         The West Salem High School team, the Panther Powers, led the medium school AA division with 174 points. The Spencer High School team, the Binary Braskys, placed second with 113 points.
         West Salem's team consisted of Peter Bajurny, Jeff Bangsberg, Andrea Breier, Chris Getter, Jessica Hulberg, and Jimmie Kesser.
         First-place Class AA individual honors went to Kesser. Matt Krasselt of Spencer took second-place honors, Bryan Boeckmann of Osseo-Fairchild High School took third-place honors, and Getter took fourth place honors.
         Kesser was offered a $500 UW-Eau Claire scholarship. Krasselt was offered a $300 UW-Eau Claire scholarship. Boeckmann was offered a $200 UW-Eau Claire scholarship, and Getter was offered a $100 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
         In the small school A division, the Conics from Cashton placed first with 128 points. The McDonell Mackmaticians, from McDonell Central High School, Chippewa Falls, placed second with 112 points.
         The Cashton High School team consisted of Steve Harter, Nick Korn, Pittaya Klongkratoke, Michelle Thelen, Brian Wallace and Jason Vaaler.
         Gyorgye Puspoki, of the McDonell team, took first-place Class A individual honors. She was offered a $500 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
         Matt Hofkes, of the McDonell team, placed second and was offered a $300 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
         Winning third-place Class A honors was Samuel Januer of Prairie Farm High School, who was offered a $200 UW-Eau Claire scholarship. Harter took fourth place and was offered a $100 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
         Other Class AAA individual winners were Brandon Nemzek from Eau Claire North High School and Mark Orgel from Eau Claire Memorial.
         Other Class AA individual winners were Bangsberg of West Salem and Drew Davidson of Ellsworth High School.
         Other Class A individual winners were Thelen and Klongkratoke, both from Cashton.
         The winning Park Center team was advised by Andrea Weinreich. Chris Milne advised the first-place West Salem team, and Gary Dickinson advised Cashton Conics, the first-place finisher in Class A.
         Other advisors were Dana Swanstrom of Eau Claire Memorial, Jean Rehm of Spencer and Carolyn Peloquin of McDonell.

UW-Eau Claire Home  News Bureau
Judy Berthiaume
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Feb. 21, 2002