This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau Schofield Hall 201 Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

Two UW-Eau Claire Students
Given Future Math Teacher Awards 

MAILED: Feb. 19, 2002

         EAU CLAIRE  Two University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students, senior Angela Jensen, Oregon, and senior Nicole Von Haden, Ladysmith, recently were awarded Isabelle P. Rucker Awards for Future Teachers. Both women are majoring in elementary education with elementary mathematics teaching minors.
        The awards, presented by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, Mathematics Education Trust are awarded to up to six full-time undergraduate or graduate students who are members of NCTM and are committed to teaching mathematics in elementary, middle or high school.
        Jensen and Von Haden were encouraged to apply for the awards by Dr. Mona Majdalani, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, and Dr. Beth Kilday, assistant professor of mathematics.
        "We both encouraged (Jensen and Von Haden) to apply after seeing the level of enthusiasm they exuded and the great experience they had at the NCTM regional meeting in Madison last fall," said Majdalani.
        In their proposals for the grants of up to $1,000 for travel and subsistence expenses to help support their attendance at an NCTM annual meeting, both Jensen and Von Haden specified what they hoped to gain from the experience, if selected. Jensen said, "I want to learn as much as I can about teaching mathematics in the classroom before I go out and take that knowledge to a new school to improve the curriculum there."
        "(Jensen) is actively involved in learning progressive methods for teaching mathematics and collaborating with others in the pursuit of superior teaching and learning of mathematics," said Kilday in her letter of recommendation.
Von Haden received a letter of recommendation from Dr. Billie Sparks, professor of mathematics, and Jensen and Von Haden both received letters of recommendation from Majdalani.
        "(Von Haden's) commitment to high academic goals and her excellent leadership skills are at the forefront of a long list of qualities," said Majdalani. "In class, she has demonstrated hard work ethics and gave every task she undertook her very best."
        Jensen and Von Haden will attend the 80th Annual NCTM meeting in Las Vegas, April 21-24. At the annual meeting the students will attend lectures, panel discussions and workshops, and view exhibits of the latest mathematics education materials and innovations.
        To be eligible for Mathematics Education Trust awards, grants or scholarships, established by NCTM to fund special projects that enhance the teaching and learning of mathematics, undergraduate applicants must be currently enrolled in a state-approved certification program and be of at least junior status with a Quality Point Average of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) or better.
        The mission of NCTM is to provide the vision and leadership necessary to ensure mathematics education of the highest quality for all students. Founded in 1920, NCTM is the world's largest mathematics education organization, with more than 100,000 members and 250 affiliates throughout the United States and Canada.

UW-Eau Claire Home  News Bureau
Judy Berthiaume
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Feb. 19, 2002